Search Unity

Question HDRP: Reading from _ColorTextureMS inside CustomPass

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by fct509, Sep 22, 2020.

1. fct509

fct509

I'm still new to what can be done with CustomPasses in HDRP, and I'm trying to read the pixel-fragment values from _ColorTextureMS.

I was looking at the code found in https://github.com/Unity-Technologi...rPipeline/RenderPass/MSAA/ColorResolve.shader to see how they did this. I threw the code into a shader (using posInput.positionSS as a substitute for texCoord) that I'm passing to the FullScreenShaderPass, but when I pull the values, all I get are zero values resulting in a black screen.

The shader is compiling with zero errors or warnings. I've set things to Forward Rendering. I've checked and the image is rendering with MSAA (at X4) when the CustomPass isn't enabled. I also make sure that there isn't any other kind of Anti-aliasing going on. I checked the Frame Debugger Window, and because of this, I know that the Custom Pass is running after the call to ResolveMSAAColor.

Like I said, I'm still new to working with CustomPasses and the documentation that Unity has isn't really that helpful for people that want (or need) to learn this.

Here's the shader so far. I haven't really done anything with what I'm values I'm pulling because I actually need to pull the values first.

Code (HLSL):
    2. Shader "FullScreen/AlterMSAA"
    3. {
    4.     HLSLINCLUDE
    6.     #pragma vertex Vert
    8.     #pragma target 4.5
    9.     #pragma only_renderers d3d11 ps4 xboxone vulkan metal switch
    11.     #include "Packages/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition/Runtime/RenderPipeline/RenderPass/CustomPass/CustomPassCommon.hlsl"
    13.     // The PositionInputs struct allow you to retrieve a lot of useful information for your fullScreenShader:
    14.     // struct PositionInputs
    15.     // {
    16.     //     float3 positionWS;  // World space position (could be camera-relative)