Search Unity

HDRP - lights only working in sample scene

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Nailer, Apr 28, 2019.

1. Nailer

Nailer

Hi!

I'm relatively new to Unity, and I'm having trouble with my scene lighting in HDRP.
    The HDRP project comes with a pre-built sample scene with in which all types of lights work just fine.

When I created my own new scene, only one directional light would work. No point lights or spots would affect any of the scene.

I first assumed this might have had something to do with the rendering settings and post processing settings. So I opened up a separate instance of unity, with a fresh HDRP project showing the sample scene. I went on to copy all rendering settings and parameters manually to see if anything would make lights work in my scene.
    (Is there an easier way to transfer settings? Can I just copy asset files in the scene catalog?)
    All to no avail.

I created new projects using the old pipeline, and point lights would work immediately with no further setup.

Any help or hints is greatly appreciated.

racarate likes this.
  2. ankurrastogi

ankurrastogi

Harinezumi, ModLunar and Ymmersive like this.
  3. Nailer

Nailer

Thank you for your response! I'll check it out.

EDIT: Hm. Yeah, I've read these articles before, but they don't hint to anything that might be causing my problems. I have a feeling it's supposed to work out of the box, but isn't.

Last edited: Apr 30, 2019
  4. Takamba

Takamba

With the actual Unity Version 2019.1.0f2 this works just fine.

Which version do you use?

HAlisavakis likes this.
  5. ElliottMallard

ElliottMallard

I get this when creating a new scene by using File > New Scene. No lights or lightbaking will work as intended in that scene. HOWEVER if i right click in the project and create a new scene that way the scene behaves much more predictably.