Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

HDRP and 3d Lut (lookup texture)

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by tcourbet, Jul 5, 2019.

  1. tcourbet

    tcourbet

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Posts:
    46
    Hi,

    Does anyone know if the 3D lut (lookup textures) work with hdrp?
    I created mine in photoshop and exported it in .cube format, but when I assign it in my post process settings, nothing at all changes.
    I tried various commercial lut too, nothing changes...

    Does that reaaally work or is it all a lie? :eek:

    (for info, I'm using Unity 2019.1.4f1 and hdrp 5.16.1)
     
  2. dd3td

    dd3td

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    the same question
     
  3. tcourbet

    tcourbet

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Posts:
    46
    Seems like the parameters are there but it hasn't been implemented yet......
    Super useful... :(
     
    dursteric likes this.
  4. Tomas-Kiniulis

    Tomas-Kiniulis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Posts:
    55
    Hi!
    Indeed. Currently, there is no way to add LUTs. In the future color lookup behavior is planned to be moved to tonemapper
     
  5. dkm

    dkm

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks for the answer!
    Do you have a (rough) timeframe for the implementation? I mean is it planned in the near-ish future?
     
  6. SebLagarde

    SebLagarde

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    936
    Hi, this will be supported with Unity 19.3
     
    tcourbet and dkm like this.
  7. dkm

    dkm

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    Excellent! Thanks for the answer :)
     
  8. tgd-uni

    tgd-uni

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    as of the new 19.3 beta release, is LUT now really working?
     
  9. Grimreaper358

    Grimreaper358

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    789
    Yes, LUTs are working, this got fixed weeks ago. Just change the Tonemapper to External and you will be bale to input your LUT there

    upload_2019-8-30_13-47-50.png
     
  10. edan_unity

    edan_unity

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    For some reason, even if I pass a neutral lut generated from photoshop, it still looks tinted white. Is it expected?
     
    id0 likes this.
  11. id0

    id0

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    455
    Even unity HDRP example luts not working. Great!

    EDIT: Actually I was wrong. Everything is working, here's explain how.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2019
  12. DJ_JW

    DJ_JW

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Posts:
    24
    I am using HDRP 7.1.6 on 2019.3.0f3 and have a somewhat similar issue as @edan_unity.

    I have used the method that @id0 has linked to and found that my LUT has a green tint over the whole camera view (the LUT has a green predominance but shouldn't tint the blacks/shadows as well).

    I have used exactly the same cube LUT file with UE4 using the method that Epic documents and it looks great in UE4.
    HDRP seems to have an issue with LUTS as I have tried a few and all have the same result in HDRP.

    I have attached both the original LUT and the one exported from Photoshop using the method @id0 has linked to see if anyone might be able to provide some guidance.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. id0

    id0

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    455
    DJ_JW I'm using 7.1.7 (just install), but 2020.1 17 alpha and no green. Here it is:

    luts.jpg

    But "original_unmodififed_lut" too bright. Unity HDRP example luts not working at all. I made a lut in 3D LUT Creator, but I think you can do in new photoshop with no problem.

    I think something wrong in your HDRP or Unity settings.