Search Unity

HDRP - 5.2.3 null exception

Discussion in 'Graphics Experimental Previews' started by poetoaster3006, Dec 28, 2018.

  1. poetoaster3006

    poetoaster3006

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    I'm trying to start a new project with Unity 2019.1.a12 and installed Core RP and HDRP package with package manager. Latest version available is 5.2.3. I don't get this error the first time I set up the HDRP profiles, but only after I close the editor and restart unity.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an objectUnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipeline.UpgradeResourcesIfNeeded () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@5.2.3-preview/Runtime/RenderPipeline/HDRenderPipeline.cs:351)UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipeline..ctor (UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipelineAsset asset) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@5.2.3-preview/Runtime/RenderPipeline/HDRenderPipeline.cs:244)UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipelineAsset.CreatePipeline () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@5.2.3-preview/Runtime/RenderPipeline/HDRenderPipelineAsset.cs:24)UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineAsset.InternalCreatePipeline () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/RenderPipeline/RenderPipelineAsset.cs:9)UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager.PrepareRenderPipeline (UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineAsset pipelineAsset) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/RenderPipeline/RenderPipelineManager.cs:72)UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager.DoRenderLoop_Internal (UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineAsset pipe, UnityEngine.Camera[] cameras, System.IntPtr loopPtr, Unity.Collections.LowLevel.Unsafe.AtomicSafetyHandle safety) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/RenderPipeline/RenderPipelineManager.cs:45)UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
  2. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,926
    You only need HDRP itself, not the core or anything else unless you're developing a SRP. Because HDRP pulls in any dependencies it needs.
     
  3. poetoaster3006

    poetoaster3006

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Still getting the same error without Core with a fresh new project
    upload_2019-1-2_9-26-36.png
     
  4. poetoaster3006

    poetoaster3006

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Resolved this issue by installing just HDRP 5.2.3 and restarting the editor. Setting up the project to support HDRP pipeline and restarting editor again. then I installed the VFXgraph package and repeated the process.
    Somehow installing HDRP and VFXgraph at the same time caused a lot of issues
     
  5. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,926
    Is it all set up with the correct asset in the Graphics Settings etc?
     
  6. poetoaster3006

    poetoaster3006

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    yes
     
  7. GameDevCouple_I

    GameDevCouple_I

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,188
    After installing a SRP I usually have to restart or even reimport for it to work.
     
    poetoaster3006 likes this.