Search Unity

Having the Iinsert Image show what links work

Discussion in 'Meta-forum Discussion' started by GIRsMySpritAnimal, Nov 22, 2017.

  1. GIRsMySpritAnimal

    GIRsMySpritAnimal

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    42
    It would be helpful for those who are new to know what types of links are supported for putting images in a post.
    I don;t know how and having info there right when you click would be most helpful
     
  2. and-poulsen

    and-poulsen

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    66
    All links should work, as long as they're a direct link to the image and the image is not above 4mb in size.
     
  3. GIRsMySpritAnimal

    GIRsMySpritAnimal

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    42
    Are Google Drive Images OK? bc the same link i download them at don't work
    Imgur too? Neither are working for me. I only get red x's instead
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2017
  4. and-poulsen

    and-poulsen

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    66
    I see your posts.
    One of the links you are trying to embed is https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WcXLcSU6sIyBukr2qj1XxEQgSLRJpyyP/view , this is not a direct link to the image resource, but a link to the site that previews the image.
    You will have to get the direct link to the image, usually you can just right click the image and do either "Copy image URL", or "Open image in a new tab" and then get the url from the address bar.
    The above image would then be https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/g...0TWO4CYOpZ7AznfEjTB8Q1XNgPcUpZ=w2560-h1245-rw

    But, I think Google Drive might not like people hotlinking images stored on Drive, so they have some features to disallow that. Imgur is a solid alternative though (remember to get the direct url), or you can upload the photo to the forum
     
  5. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,136
    You can simply drag and drop images onto your post directly; much simpler that way.

    --Eric
     
  6. sngdan

    sngdan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    915
    i wish this would also work for private messages... (deja vu, I think I said that before)
     
  7. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,136
    It does work in PMs, but apparently not for everybody. Maybe only moderators? Probably a forum setting somewhere.

    --Eric
     
  8. sngdan

    sngdan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    915
    deja vu, again - I think I recall that it has been working for you. I would love to figure out if this is related to your moderator status or some setting in my control.
     
  9. and-poulsen

    and-poulsen

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    66
    Heya,
    This should be possible now, thanks for reporting it!
     
  10. sngdan

    sngdan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    915
    Traveling and access from phone so can’t test it right now - but can’t wait to try it. I should have filed a bug report long ago - lesson learnt
     
  11. GIRsMySpritAnimal

    GIRsMySpritAnimal

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    42
    Thank you!