Search Unity

Having some sort of world/space issue I think...Help appreciated

Discussion in '2D' started by naturebytes, Jun 22, 2019.

1. naturebytes

naturebytes

Hi there, Hope all is well, Beginner here. Tried to debug for around 3 hours before I chose to seek help here. can't tell if its an engine issue or my code. So below are 3 pictures of my problem. I have a laser prefab for single shots and then a TripleShot powerup. My regular laser Instantiates just fine with 0 problems.

My triple shot powerup is 3 lasers that are within a empty GameObject called Triple shot (Parent). The problem is that even though there is no offset in my code, the triple shot lasers are offset and whats stranger is the offset Changes depending on where my character is. If i go left, the offset goes right. Vice versa. And Its the same on the Y axis as well. If i go up the offset goes down.

I can code in an offset when my ship starts the game at (0,0,0) but it doesn't matter as its changing based on player location. I've tried remaking triple shot. Restarting Unity.

weird offset3.png Weirdoffset.png weirdoffset2.png

Here is my code -

using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;

public class Player : MonoBehaviour
    {

//variables

[SerializeField] float speed = 5;
    [SerializeField] float fireRate = 0.5f;
    [SerializeField] int lives = 3;

private float nextFire = 0.0f;

[SerializeField] bool isTripleShotActive = false;

[SerializeField] GameObject laserPrefab;
    [SerializeField] GameObject tripleShotPrefab;

// cached references
    SpawnManager spawnManager;

void Start()
    {
    transform.position = new Vector3(0, 0, 0);
    spawnManager = GameObject.FindObjectOfType<SpawnManager>();
    }

void Update()
    {
    Movement();

if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Space) && Time.time > nextFire)
    {
    FireLaser();
    }
    }

private void FireLaser()
    {

nextFire = Time.time + fireRate;

if (isTripleShotActive == true)
    {