Search Unity

Question Having an "Animation within an Animation" (Person in Car)

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by RevolutionEve, Jan 15, 2021.

1. RevolutionEve

RevolutionEve

Hello,
    I have a 3D Scene, with a 3d Prefab Caracter (Humanoid) and a Car.

What I want to do: Put an "driving" Animation to the Character (loop) and move the car with the character inside alot the screen.

I am always having Problems with the Charater beeing on totally off positions outside the car when i start moving the Timeline.

What is the best way to do it?

- Should the Character be a "Child" to the Car?
    - What Animation Tracks and so on should i put on timeline?

I tried different variations but somehow always ended up with the character beeing in the wrong spot.

Sorry, i am very new to this :-(

WIshes,
    Maria

2. tree_arb

tree_arb

I don't know much about timeline and animation tracks. Hopefully someone else chimes in on that.

However most scenarios i would likely put the character as a child of the car either by dragging it in the hierarchy, or by script. Most cases parent and un-parent it to the car as it gets in and or out of the vehicle.

If the car is complex you might need to experiment w placement. Example: parented to the wheel, the character might rotate wrong or something.

In a normal game situation. If you parent the character to the car, you can move the car and the character stays inside. Any other option would have to be to update the characters transform every frame by script.

3. RevolutionEve

RevolutionEve

Thanks for your answer. Thats what I tried. I tried to child it to the car. I created also an empty and put the car and the character below the Empty and tried to move the empty.....never were able to get it to work :-(

4. DavidGeoffroy

DavidGeoffroy

Unity Technologies

There are a few solutions: