Search Unity

Has anyone used this tutorial to learn C# / Unity

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gildar76, Jan 7, 2017.

1. Gildar76

Gildar76

Hi,

I know C# myself, but when people ask me how to learn C#, or programming in general I'm pretty conservative. I want people to learn the fundamentals first, but to do it in a fun way. I would like to know if anyone that's almost a complete beginner has been using the devU tutorial to learn C# and unity with any success.

https://courses.devu.com/courses/unity

If someone has other suggestions, please let me know.

I myself, got into C# after using other languages for several years, so it's sometimes difficult for me to tell if a tutorial or course is good for an absolute beginner or not, but this was one of the more promising courses I could find that's free.

Thanks!

2. Tusk_

Tusk_

Hi there do you want to learn Unity AND C#?

I can't speak for 3rd party Unity resources but what I can tell you is the Learn Unity on this site is the most brilliantly crafted learning resources you can find, infact the free resources online are always better than some rubbish by a publisher looking to make money.

Here

http://www.introprogramming.info/english-intro-csharp-book/read-online/

This resource has been recommended on sub reddit programming aswell as veteran stackexchange programmers. It was created by University professors of the former Satellite Republics of the Soviet Union.

From the link you could read the comments and maybe decide, it is a 1400 page book that teaches how to think like a programmer and how to program, things like alrogithms and data structures rather than just learning a programming language.

I own this aswell as a number of American programming books taught at State Universities in the US and none of those books come remotely close to this link I have given you here. This was created by a lot of people for the sole purpose of teaching programming and how to solve problems.