Search Unity

Has anybody here used atavism?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ToxicCUBE, Sep 24, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ToxicCUBE

ToxicCUBE

I am looking to buy atavism next year once I can purchase my new PC and do more with unity. atavism has a lot of plug in features that take away a tremendous amount of work, problem is that it's ran with javascript and python. The reason I ask this is because I am wanting it to be action combat but that requires physics. not sure if my idea would be feasible by not being ran with C#

I am no developer I am just a guy playing around with unity at the moment and making small games, was hoping to get atavism and get a small team that can work off of the license with me and make something to present for a crowd funding project.

Is there a thread or forum or even website for people to group up for a collaboration or is it just unrealistic?

2. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

My take: Your never going to make something decent that also makes any money using an MMO "kit". Sorry but it just is the truth, if you look there are no decent commercial games made with avatism other than the 1 game made by the creators of avatism, and that does not have many players at all considering.

If you dont care about making money or how you spend it then go for it, but £400+ is a lot for an asset.

If your serious about crowdfunding and getting a team, they are going to not want to use a prebuilt kit to make the features of the game, and when it comes to networking etc its going to cause you headaches. Something like a multiplayer game needs a lot of engineering and a kit wont let you cut past that.

Honestly if your no developer as you say and havent made a game before, why are you trying to make an MMO/online game first? The idea of making an MMO as your first game is literally meme worthy in the game dev community