Search Unity

Has anybody else has this problem?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lzysskd, Nov 10, 2019.

1. lzysskd

lzysskd

I am fairly good programmer but I am bad at creating game assets like the graphic part of the game.

Any suggestions and tips?

2. iamthwee

iamthwee

2D -> Affinity suites
    3D -> Blender

Hours and hours of practice = no longer a problem.

[I also use affinity for concept art first.]

3. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

I have a bachelor degree in asset searching, you get that over the years if you make a game with only devs on the team. My tip is, either find a stylish asset pack that hold absolute everything you need for the ENTIRE game. Or go realistic look.

Stylish look and kit bashing always look amateurish and bad because of the missmatch between packages.
    With realistic you just need to make sure the assets use PBR and have a matching quality. Which can be hard sometimes, I always check the content explorer and check that the metanless map is looking good before I commit to buy.

Socrates likes this.
  4. Deleted User

Deleted User

Don't be afraid to do your own stuff, even it looks "bad". Bad is a matter of how people look at things. ;)

I'm not good at graphics either so I took images on the web and used them as models for my little sprites. Making animations if not difficult either; you can find tutorials about that on the web.

All you need is learning how to use an image editor like The GIMP for 2D graphics or Blender for 3D ones and make a leap of faith in your capabilities.;)

I made the images below using an image editor for my 2D game.

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 10, 2019
    iamthwee likes this.
  5. angrypenguin

angrypenguin

Early on, don't worry about it. Learn to do what you do well, and either buy the rest, use open-source stuff (eg: opengameart.org) or be happy with whatever simple stuff you can put together yourself.