Search Unity

Hard Luck Hank animation

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by dukerustfield, Oct 24, 2020.

1. dukerustfield

dukerustfield

Hi, I'm a novelist.

https://hardluckhank.com/

Every 2-4 years for the past...20ish years, I've looked into being able to make my writing available in visual form. For reference, the first thing I experimented with was VRML which was probably in the late 90s. Actually, before that I used line draw macros in wordperfect to create stop action animation... I tried working with Java3D; various animation programs like Cartoon Maker; I took some Flash classes and was horrified how terrible it was. And I investigated cinema-level tools and lower level programming languages. I even experimented with early versions of Unity as well as Unreal and Cry and whatever else. None of it was able to do what I was looking for, so I'd give up.

I worked as a computer programmer whilst writing. And I had a lot of friends in the visual effects industry because I live in Los Angeles. We used to play soccer at Electronic Arts vs. guys from Blizzard. So lots of games and post production movie people.

Maybe 1 year ago I decided to try Unity again. This was my first real deep dive into it beyond, say, making a cube in 3D space. I realized the tools were finally easy enough that I could use them.

This is a long preamble to saying I made a short animation and put it up on Amazon Prime Direct.

https://amazon.com/End-of-the-Universe/dp/B08LNJCMWP/

It's not great. But it was kind of a proof-of-concept. I wanted to do with animation what I do with books. That is, have one person make it. I had all sorts of resources offering to help me out. From voice actors and even professional animators. But the entire concept was to "self-publish" animation as a non-animator. And I managed to do it. It wouldn't have been possible without the Unity Store and the forums and random people on youtube giving tutorials and such.