Search Unity

Handling AudioClip loading / When to Unload AudioClips?

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by AwesomeX, Dec 10, 2019.

1. AwesomeX

AwesomeX

I'm new to Addressables and I'm looking for info on how I'd go about loading audioclips at runtime.
    I have an AudioManager class that handles playing clips via an addressable URL or an assetreference of an audioclip.

My main question is when/how do I handle releasing/unloading the audioclip properly?

With the example code below the audio all plays properly when called, but it's a bit confusing because I'm releasing the obj at the same time.

Code (CSharp):
    1.     public static void PlaySound(string URL, Vector3 position)
    2.     {
    3.         Addressables.LoadAssetAsync<AudioClip>(URL).Completed += (obj) =>
    4.         {
    5.             AudioClip audioClip = obj.Result;
    7.             if (audioClip == null)
    8.             {
    9.                 Debug.LogWarning("<color=#FF7777>Audio Manager: Missing sound " + URL + "</color>");
    10.                 return;
    11.             }
    13.             Debug.Log("<color=#ffb3ff>Audio Manager: Playing sound " + audioClip.name + " - " + URL + "</color>");
    14.             PlaySound(audioClip, position);
    16.             Addressables.Release(obj);
    17.         };
    18.     }
    I'd also like to know if how I'm handling loading audioclips is completely trash or not.
    Overall info would be great. Thanks.

2. AwesomeX

AwesomeX

Still looking for info on when it's an appropriate time to release an audioclip. Right away, when the clip is done playing? Some other way? And what's the difference.

3. jerotas

jerotas

Pretty sure it's not going to release if it's still being used. After all "release" should reclaim the memory and if it's being used that's impossible. Hopefully someone will answer soon.

4. VaygrEmpire

VaygrEmpire

5. jerotas

jerotas