Search Unity

Question Handling a large number of same-importance entities

Discussion in 'NetCode for ECS' started by MhmdAL1111, Dec 12, 2022.

1. MhmdAL1111

MhmdAL1111

Hi, I am a beginner with multiplayer games, and I am making a small prototype of a tower defense game.
    I am trying to understand what is the best way to handle a big number (1000+) of entities which move along a path (a square-wave looking path) at varying speeds, which can also be stopped and attacked when a player is near them.

I tried having them as dynamic interpolated ghosts but after about 500 entities it starts showing weird behavior where the entities will continue in a straight path even though they should turn and follow their defined path, then quickly disappear and reappear on the path again.

So it seemed this approach won't work. All these entities are of equal importance and I need to simulate them all. Then I tried changing the translation Send Type Optimization on the prefab to "never send" and instead ran the movement system on the client. It works, and the bug described above doesn't happen, but now I wonder how I will handle syncing the initial spawn position, the stopping and attacking the player, etc. when the systems that spawn the entities, handle the attacks, etc. are server-only?

Is there any built-in way I can sync the position once every X time for this entity? Or, is there any way to force sync the translation whenever it makes sense (for example on every waypoint along the path)?

Any ideas will be helpful, thank you

2. miniwolf_unity

miniwolf_unity

Unity Technologies

It sounds to me like you are sending too much data per tick, which is causing their entities to overshoot and then get moved back. But that is an assumption.
    I made a system to make about 500 entities walk around in a pattern and put the RTT Delay to 1000ms and only then saw the overshooting happen. Are you perhaps synchronizing more data than just the position and rotation?