Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Hand Drawn animation method

Discussion in '2D' started by DEMEF1, Mar 16, 2017.

1. DEMEF1

DEMEF1

Hey everyone. I am new to game creation and game art, so I am looking for someone to lend a hand.
    Here is my issue.
    I am a big fan of hand drawn animations. For example if anyone has played castle crashers, Skullgirls, or the quite recent norse mythology game "Jotun", then you should understand what I mean by 2d hand drawn games. See, I consider myself pretty decent at art and the game I have in mind is fairly simple, however, I still want to implement my art. I will be creating the game in 3d, however the view is orthographic, so my art will be flat. My main questions are should I be using adobe flash, photoshop, or animate? Should I make a sprite sheet or do I just create framed animations where I just draw over the last image on a new frame? How can I import my art? Should I have a separate document for each animation?

Thanks, I spent a good couple of days trying to find an answer, but none to be found, so this was my last resort.

2. z3

z3

unity does sprite sheets or I believe you can import each separately but there's no drawing frame by frame in unity
    What iv'e did is draw my game enemy in this case because i can't draw people :/ in photoshop duplicated it changed somthing like say the feet and in the end made a 640x128 sprite sheet and told unity to divide it to 128 x 128 giving me 5 frames . At about 5 min in this video he shows one of the ways to do a sprite sheet in unity

3. jackhearts

jackhearts