Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.2 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Hair Tool

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by andrii-shpak, Dec 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. leechanghun

    leechanghun

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Hi~
    I made Hair to Max.
    Add 'Hair Geometry Importer. and HairSettings.
    Hair was created in the renderer.
    But It is not visible in the Game window.
    What should I do?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. KilledByKoalas

    KilledByKoalas

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,

    first of all: great tool. The results are really amazing!

    But I still do have a little problem: I have created a character with Adobe Fuse, have duplicated the head-mesh and cut out a part of the head-mesh as scalp, imported this into Unity and added the components for Hair Tool (Collider Providers, Hair Settings and Geometry Creator).

    If I now add hairs to the scalp, everything looks good in the Editor-Window. But if I click on "Play", the hairs are not generated in Play-Mode.
    To have the hais generated, I have to go back to the Editor-Window (while still in Play-Mode) and have to double-click on the GameObject where the Hair Settings in added to. After that, the hairs are generated correctly.
     
  3. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Now get it.
    I'll try to find a reason and fix it.
     
  4. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Could you send me test scene to my support mail?
     
  5. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Already working on siilar bug, I'll let you know as soon as found something
     
  6. KilledByKoalas

    KilledByKoalas

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Great, thanks. Looking forward to it. :)
     
  7. KilledByKoalas

    KilledByKoalas

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Hey andrii, I don't know if this helps, but I have experienced that this problem does not exist if the Root-Tip-Elasticy-value at the starting point is not 0. I have set this value to 0.1 at the starting point of the curve and now the hairs show up immediately when I go into Play-Mode.
     
  8. KilledByKoalas

    KilledByKoalas

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Hmm, forget that. The error still occurs even if the Root-Tip-Elasticy is not starting at 0.0f. It more looks like the hair is not generated immediately (in my case at least) if the camera is too close to the character.
     
  9. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Could you write me to my mail? I'll send you fixed update
     
  10. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    I don't clearly understand which wxactly stands do you mean?
     
  11. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    I see null refference error could you send me full console screenshot
     
  12. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    I'm fixed this bug for nex update. I can send you it. Just write to my mail. Also to fix it in your version hair tool just reasemble HairSettings script
     
  13. pan4ezzz

    pan4ezzz

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Hi!
    How to do this? Edit IKExecutionOrder?
     
  14. twiggyash

    twiggyash

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    Hi, I'm loving your Hair Tool but now I'm using it with blend shapes to make characters speak and I'm trying to add a beard that follows the chin movement while speaking. How can I do this on Unity?
    I tried to parent the beard to the chin facerig point but with no result cause it seems to not move during face animation. (If can be usefull I'm using a Morph3D character and Salsa Lip Sync for speech animation)

    Thank you!
     
  15. leechanghun

    leechanghun

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    hi~
    my mail is
    appmaker@daum.net
    send to me~~
    Thank you~
     
  16. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    hopeful likes this.
  17. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    My mail you can find on asset store page. Send me a letter with purchase id. And I'll send you the update.
     
  18. pan4ezzz

    pan4ezzz

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Posts:
    12
  19. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Unforunatelly It doesn't works with morphs. I cant found how to get vertex position in this case,
     
  20. aidesigner

    aidesigner

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Posts:
    121
    Could you provide a status update on supporting mobile (iOS/android)? This post makes it appear that you have hit an impasse until Unity makes a change (No guarantee). The tool is amazing, but I cannot have a bald character on mobile:)

    Is there a API to turn off the dynamic functionality of the hair (performance)? Could static hair be implemented on mobile, which would be a good work around?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2017
  21. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    The key feature for Hair Tool is tesselation. For now it is supported only on dz11 and (with alot of errors) on OpenGL Core. Also it can teoreticly works with metal and vulcan. But Unity doesn't support tesselation on those platforms yet. So I'm waiting for that.
     
  22. zubrjosh

    zubrjosh

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Hi, I'm using Hair Tool to create fur for dogs. I'm having a problem with the lighting, the hair furthest from the light seems to be very dark. You can see it on this image on the legs & feet.
    Capture_Fur.PNG
    And here is my Hair Settings:
    Capture_HairSettings.PNG

    Is there anything I can do to reduce this?

    Thanks
     
  23. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Does the Hair Geometry Creator work with Unity 2017.2 ob2?
     
  24. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Cannot find the ScalpSkinner Compute Shader shown in the tutorial.
     
  25. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    In Max 2017 and 2018 I get a syntax error when running the Max exporter script
     
  26. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Attached syntax error MaxExporter error.jpg
     
  27. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Also cannot find the Hidden/internal depth shader
     
  28. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    See GPUTools/Hair/Shaders/Internal-DepthNormalTexture
     
  29. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    It is updated only for 3dsmax 2016 yet
     
  30. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Use HairGeometryImporter script select Scalp Rendere Type as Skinned
     
  31. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Try to play with light center position
    HairSettings=>StandsSettings=>HeadCenter
     
  32. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Unity 2017.2 is now suppoerted yet. I'll add update this week
     
  33. Mbcburt

    Mbcburt

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    This is really a great tool. I have however come across a bug that is hindering my production. The bug is in the Internal-DepthNormalTexture for Unity 2017.2. The bug happen while using the new post processing fx PP v2 found here.

    Cinemachine 2.1 supports post-processing blending, when used in conjunction with PostProcessing Stack V2. You can get CM 2.1 here: https://forum.unity.com/threads/cm-v2-1-release-candidate.497202/
    PPv2 is available here: https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/PostProcessing/tree/v2

    It renders black around the hair while using any of the post fx in v2.

    Let me know when there is an update for this, it would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  34. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,251
    That's a nice looking model ... except for that big black stripe, whatever that is.
     
  35. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Get the same error in 3dsMax2016. where can I get a corrected script?
     
  36. zubrjosh

    zubrjosh

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    This helped, thanks.
     
  37. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    I'll try to reproduce it and then let you know, or will sent fixed script
     
    Parallax likes this.
  38. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    You mean this huge black line is produced by hair tool?
     
  39. Mbcburt

    Mbcburt

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    I'm not sure the what is causing the issue. It only happens when rendering the hair. This only just started happening after I updated to the new post fx tools. The big black area covers the screen as I rotate the camera.
     
  40. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Could you try it without Internal-DepthNormalTexture added?
     
  41. Mbcburt

    Mbcburt

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    I narrowed down where the issues are coming from. I only get this artifact happening when I use the new post processing script using Temporal Anti aliasing. As a work around I will use one of the other anti aliasing methods and that works for me. The internal-motionVector shader is connected to the temporal anti aliasing so when I disabled that it removed the issue as well. Simple solution for now I will use a different aliasing method for a temporary fix.
     

    Attached Files:

  42. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Just added blend shapes support. Still need to fix some bugs. The update will be ready up to the end of this week.
    https://twitter.com/shpak_andrii/status/922944004643278848
     
    hopeful likes this.
  43. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    hopeful likes this.
  44. nxrighthere

    nxrighthere

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Posts:
    568
  45. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Motion vectors feature is present in my feature list. I'll try to add it with next update
     
    nxrighthere likes this.
  46. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Motion vectors feature is not supported yet but I'll try to add it with the next update.
     
    hopeful likes this.
  47. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    In Max 2016 I get a syntax error running the Max exporter script.
     
  48. johnzzhh

    johnzzhh

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Is there any version can be used under Unity 5.4.1p1?
     
  49. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    where can I download the current Max exporter script?
     
  50. andrii-shpak

    andrii-shpak

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    315
    Actualy script inside project folder is current. Unfortunatelly I can't reproduce your errors. Which exactly verssion of 3ds max 2016 do you use?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity