Search Unity

Hair Designer - Dynamic hair & fur tool

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by kalagaan, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. r3ndesigner

    r3ndesigner

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    106
    Any news about the tools like mirror? base hair? braids?
     
  2. r3ndesigner

    r3ndesigner

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    106
    i dont care about pay more 15 / 20 for upgrade but really need this tools =}
     
    OfficialHermie likes this.
  3. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Hi, sorry about the delay :(
    I had to work on other projects.
    I'll try to add the mirror tool in the next version.

    And the version 1.5.0 is still locked in the asset store submission queue...
    I don't know why... the pro version is already released on the asset store
    I'm waiting for support from the asset store team.
     
  4. Roly43

    Roly43

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    a mirror tool, nomater when, whould be a 100% speed increase, in like complicated hair, i am not in a rush at al, but looks very valuable for the more complicated . love the mirror idea:)
     
  5. r3ndesigner

    r3ndesigner

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    106
  6. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    I was on vacation :p
    HairDesigner is now available on the asset store for unity 5.4, .5.5, 5.6, 2017
    For the basic version, you'll have to download again the version if you need to upgrade your project to a different version of unity. The DLL names include the compatible unity version.

    Now I'm working on a fix for the fur shader, the brush function need some improvment.
    I'm also working on the long hair tool, I want to add some mesh templates (like braids), and some helpers (mirror, better curves...)
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2017
    r3ndesigner likes this.
  7. r3ndesigner

    r3ndesigner

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    106
    best new of the day
     
  8. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Here a new asset : Blend Shape Preset Tool
    I
    've started working on this tool for creating better demos for HairDesigner, and I found it usefull, so now it's on the asset store :p
     
    punk and wetcircuit like this.
  9. Umbrella_Rob

    Umbrella_Rob

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Hey kalagaan,

    I bought your Asset pack today and it looks really good. I opened your HairCutDemo4 and when I unlock e.g. the beard layer and then lock them again the beard nearly disappear. I'm on Unity 2017.2.0f3. I attach 3 pictures - and I just klicked unlock and lock again. Could you please help me out? Or I miss something? :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      778.8 KB
      Views:
      474
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      801.1 KB
      Views:
      496
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      812.1 KB
      Views:
      618
  10. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Hi,
    thank you for your feedback,
    you can easily fix it by switching to the material tab again ;)

    I'll fix this unwanted behavior of the lock button in the next version.
     
    Umbrella_Rob likes this.
  11. Umbrella_Rob

    Umbrella_Rob

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks alot!! That was the solution and a super fast one too ;)
     
    kalagaan likes this.
  12. kavs

    kavs

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Hey there! Can this be used for something like grass? If so, is there support to 'cut' a piece of hair and remove it from the scene if it came in contact with a collider?

    I'm looking for a solution for clearing a field. :)
     
  13. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Hi,
    there's a grass demo in the package,
    you could create some quad models with a HairDesigner mesh on them, and instantiate them on the field (with random position/rotations).
    Each grass quad could have a script that set the cut value of the shader (for all the grass blades of the quad) when the collision is detected.

    Another solution could be to uses a fur layer and set the pixels of the mask texture in the area you need to cut.
    The fur could be use for short grass only, not for long blades.

    Here a sample :
    - short hair layer with procedural hair shader (dark green)
    - fur layer (light green)
     
    KRGraphics likes this.
  14. Umbrella_Rob

    Umbrella_Rob

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    I have alot of problems with this Asset packs, maybe I use it totaly wrong or there is a buck within unity, but i cant find a solution. Please can you check whats wrong here? I was trying to paint hair strands on the avatars head and now i ending up with thousands of strands all in one place far from my avatar and i cant erase them. Please see the pictures. There is also always an error when I'll save the mesh as a prefab - is this normal? Its says basicly its missing the root.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Could you send me your character by email?
    I could check what's going on ;)
     
  16. Umbrella_Rob

    Umbrella_Rob

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Oh that would be wonderfull! What's your mail adress? I'll send it then tomorrow when I'm back at work. Thanks ✌
     
  17. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    contact@kalagaan.com
    ;)
     
  18. Lewnatic

    Lewnatic

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Posts:
    200
    Hey im currently testing HairDesigner. Im using the fur shell and im getting a lot of errors like this. Also its seems like the fur shell is added multiple times.


    Seems like this is related to using the hair designer LOD. This error happen when i get close the shell and it switch the number of shells.



    For some reason there is a total of 3 Hair designer scripts on my prefabs. Those scripts suddenly start to appear on my instantiated prefabs.
     
  19. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Hi,
    sorry, this error will be fixed in the next version, I'll update it soon.
    Please send me an email with your invoice number and your version of unity, and I'll send you a patch.
    (contact@kalagaan.com)
     
  20. Lewnatic

    Lewnatic

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Posts:
    200
    @kalagaan Thanks for the quick response. Btw are there any plans for a DX11 and GPU solution for the hair/fur?
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2017
  21. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Yes, I'll add more layer types and shaders :) I'll work on DX11 hair.
    But now I want to improve the design tools before adding more layers.
     
  22. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    I've submit the version 1.5.2 to the asset store. :D
    It should be available soon!

    New : Fur brush density parameter
    New : Translucency for atlas shader
    Fix : T-pose issue with some models
    Fix : Fur LOD error
    Fix : Fur orientation in tangent space
    Fix : Hair strand not on surface
    Fix : UI scroll, LOD display


    There's a lot of fixes, it took more time than expected to finalise this version. :p
    The T-pose function for painting is now more efficient with all kind of bone hierarchy.
    The fur painting is more accurate and there's a density parameter (very usefull)
    I've also added translucency to the atlas shader ;)

    Here a sample :

     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2017
    neoshaman, KRGraphics and wetcircuit like this.
  23. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,979
    Nice dreads man... SHABBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  24. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,979
    This would be ideal for a large field. I have the mesh brush asset and use the exact function for adding grass...
     
  25. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,979
    This looks impressive. I would love to give this a go and see what I can do with this. I like the subtle softness of the hair at the tips... hopefully on the roots, I can soften the hairs too
     
  26. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,979
    So, upon looking at the tools, my only issue atm is with the hair generated textures... I would love to add some variation to the texture so that some of the planes have a different texture as well as hair softness at the roots. Rendering soft hair is not easy, but I am going to enjoy using this asset. Creating hair cards is boring as hell...
     
  27. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    You can create an atlas with different hair settings,
    the shader will get a random hair texture in the atlas for each hair cards.
     
  28. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,979
    Sweet. I am waiting for this to go on sale before I buy it :)... and I will create a custom shader for it
     
  29. Harald_Heide

    Harald_Heide

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    54
    Will this work with UWP in Windows Mixed Reality.? Bought a horse with no mane and tail hair in the fbx (seems to work only in max3d and will not import into unity) Horse looks kinda silly with no mane and a rat tail :)
     
  30. Harald_Heide

    Harald_Heide

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    54
    Also got a couple of GIM animals. GIM is ready for NeoFur but the Neo guys are out me thinks?? GIM looks great as is, but guess adding some of this stuff might piff them up even more??
     
  31. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    It works in VR (tested with HTC VIVE), I don't have a mixed reality Headset.
    It should work easily with GIM animals, because the base textures are really good, you'll only have to paint the fur length on the model :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2017
  32. Nyxeka

    Nyxeka

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Just bought the asset. First of all: It looks great!

    Second of all: Please use namespaces in your code when releasing products. the "Slider" class actually conflicted with a "Slider" class I had already created in my project. I ended up including my slider-tree system thing in my personal namespace, since I meant to do that soon anyways, so no conflict anymore, but yeah :)

    Edit: Oh jeez, I'm an idiot lol.
    Thanks for the kind response though :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2018
  33. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Thank you for the feedback, the fur demo script is not in the namespace, I will add it in the next version. But in your case this is not a conflict with one of the HairDesigner class.
    All the main code is in the namespace Kalagaan.HairDesignerExtension ;)
    I use the slider class from UnityEngine.UI in the demo script, so you would have conflicts with any script using the UnityEngine.UI.Slider .
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2017
  34. neoshaman

    neoshaman

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Posts:
    4,890
    I have been trying a painter that would do curl but got damn it it's hard, no wonder you hasn't made one yet too lol, smooth flow map for anything that is a modified straight line is super hard! I think the solution might be to generate hirez mesh and capture them from a camera ... :eek: I'll keep anyone interested in tightly curl afro hair informed of the progress.

    Great job on the translucency, this asset just keep getting better.
     
    kalagaan likes this.
  35. Harald_Heide

    Harald_Heide

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    54
    Hi
    I have this notorious horse that I'm trying to grow a ponytail on.
    It uses a skinned mesh renderer. I add a new component Hair Designer (Script).
    (To the child object of my horse that has the skinned mesh renderer component.)
    When adding the Hair Designer - New layer and pressing the Polygons button, in unity's scene window,
    my horse suddenly looks like it's trying to stick it's head up it's bum,
    much like the average ostrich when frightened.
    (The deranged descendent of the dinosaurs, thingie).

    Any suggestions in how to prevent my horse from taking to this slightly nasty behavior, would be most appreciated.
    I could send you the FBX file if interested?
    Regards,
    Harald
    Norw thing

    Otherwise, Great asset, and the examples coming with the hair tool works perfect.
     
  36. Harald_Heide

    Harald_Heide

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    54
    BTW Managed easily to grow a ponytail on a GIM Reddeer. No issues there.
    Could it be an fbx version issue?? and where the Ostrich went, I've no idea... :)
     
  37. Harald_Heide

    Harald_Heide

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    54
    Satisfactory work around. Copied the Mesh Filter component from a 3D Cube object onto the bone I wanted to grow hair from. Attaching the Hair Designer component then directly onto the bone seems to be doing the trick...
    (PS! The ostrich is back...)
     
  38. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Please send me your fbx file (contact@kalagaan.com), I'll have a look ;)
    It looks like there's a bug on the T-pose function with some bone hierarchy. :confused:
     
  39. Harald_Heide

    Harald_Heide

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    54
    Just sent the ostrich wannabe by email (attached zip file)...

    Btw. Had no issues with running hair from tool in UWP windows program in Mixed Reality. Works just great :)


    (Haven't seen the ostrich for quite a while now...Probably near Wallawalla somewhere on a walkabout. Nice weather there this time of the year I've heard)
     
    kalagaan likes this.
  40. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    Thank you @Chillfire, I've fixed the bug, (no more ostrich, I hope) :)
    the fix will be available in the version 1.5.3

    If you have this bug, the console will print : "HairDesigner : Fail to generate collider position"
    Anyone who has this issue can send me an email (contact@kalagaan.com)
    with the invoice number and the unity version.
    I'll send a patch. ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2017
  41. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,979
    @kalagaan Hey, man, I just got a swell idea for your hair designer tools. What if we could generate hairs from a scalp proxy mesh on a character like in CG movies to create more natural looking hair styles? And even groom tools like clump, blow, toss.

    The current implementation is awesome but it doesn't look natural and it's limited to straight hairs.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2017
  42. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    I want to add a fibers tool later, it will use geometry shader for generating the mesh :)
    I'll also improve the current short hair tool, I'll work on a way to brush the tip of the strand, instead of the root only.
     
    KRGraphics likes this.
  43. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,979
    Sweet :)
     
  44. OfficialHermie

    OfficialHermie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    508
    compare1.png

    Thank you for the update.
    Some hair styles look smoother than others.
    For example the one on the right side look very "pixelated".

    compare2.png

    Why is that so (this would be my most important question) and can that be improved?
    I tried using an AA effect, but it wouldn't help.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2017
    Crossway likes this.
  45. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    You should use the atlas shader, the procedural shader is better when you zoom in, but the zoom out increase aliasing because the procedural shader doesn't have mipmaping.
    You can drag & drop the HD_TextureAtlas in the slot of the material tab.
    If there's no transparency, drag & drop the HD_TextureAtlas_transparent in the 'Transparent material' slot.
    You'll have to open the Texture generator and setup the hair textures.
    If you are using the characters from the HairCutDemo 1, you'll have to unlock and lock the layer in the polygon tab, because the hair mesh was generated with an older version of HairDesigner.

    I've change some parameters of the ponytail
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2017
  46. OfficialHermie

    OfficialHermie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    508
    Are the procedural shader gonna have mipmaps, or is that not possible?
    May I also ask when we'll have these "strand templates"?
    I just don't feel I'm able to set up procedural shaders myself.
    I think the templates would help me much.
    When it comes to templates, do you think you could also include bushy eye brows? :)
     
  47. Artaani

    Artaani

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    411
    Hello!

    Your tool looks interesting. I am have a few question about it:

    1. Can I create a female long hairs using this tool? 50 cm long or something lika that. I saw a nice female hair on your VR demo above, bat can we have a closer look? Also a video tutorial about female hair could be nice. How stable long hairs on real moving character?

    2. So this is not GPU based like "Hair Tool" from the Asset Store? It is more classic technology which is based on "Cloth"?

    3. What about shadows from point light and spot light? Also, ambient lights, reflection probes etc. Everything works fine in sense of PBR rendering?
     
  48. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    There's no textures in the procedural shader, so no mipmap. :/
    The strand templates are a part of the current version I'm working on, it will replace the current strand mesh (plane) with a predifined mesh from a collection. I don't have a release date now, it will be a part of the 1.6 version of HairDesigner.
     
  49. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,064
    1. yes, you can, here a demo (HairDesigner & Blend Shape Preset Tool)
    2. there's different layers with different technologies.
    short hair & long hair generates polygons, the fur shader use GPU instancing.
    The motion system uses bones for long hair, and/or a secondary motion driven by GPU (motion zones).
    3. The shaders are based on unity standard shader for PBR compatibility.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2017
    Artaani likes this.
  50. OfficialHermie

    OfficialHermie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    508
    Your hair demo is exactely what it should look like.
    Please, nobody needs this edgy, pixelated stuff (sorry for being too honest).
    Can't you just remove it if it can't be improved?
    I mean you're spending time with it, right? I think nobody who has a bit of style will use pixelated, edgy hair.
    Everybody will just use the great smooth shading shown here: http://www.kalagaan.com/HairDesigner/Demos/DemoLongHair/
     
unityunity