Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Hair Designer - Dynamic hair & fur tool

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by kalagaan, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. neoshaman

    neoshaman

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Posts:
    3,534
  2. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Not yet, I'm working on this :)
    I'll include a color brush to the tool, and the main color of the hair will be picked from the character texture.
     
    punk and wetcircuit like this.
  3. gecko

    gecko

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,743
    Fantastic!
     
  4. gecko

    gecko

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,743
    I'm having a weird problem: I wanted to tweak the hair that I set up on a character last week. However, when I click "Unlock Layer," the hair disappears. If I click on Material, then on Polygons, then it reappears...but it disappears again if I click Material. It also disappears when I click Lock Layer, even if I'm on the Polygons tab and can see it. What the heck? How do I fix this?
     
  5. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Hum very strange, what is your version of HairDesigner & unity?
    When the layer is unlocked and the polygon tab is selected, strands are rendered separatly, without shadows.
    When the layer is locked or the material tab is selected, a skinnedMesh should be created as a child of the gameobject.
    Any messages in the console?
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  6. gecko

    gecko

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,743
    I just downloaded HD two weeks ago, so it's the latest version, AFAIK. (I don't see anything in the files that indicates version.)

    But I've just realized that the hair skinned meshes are still there -- but they're 1-3 meters away from the character's body. When I unlock the layer, they move closer (in both Polygons and Materials tabs, though to different locations, and I didn't notice that it was there in Materials tab), but still not correctly placed. Any ideas?

    Nothing in the console.

    EDIT: And now I see the hair submeshes moving around wildly when the character animation plays. So I guess they somehow got parented to the wrong thing on the character's skinned mesh. But I haven't yet set up a Motion Zone, so I don't know how that could've happened...or how to fix it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  7. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    The current version: 1.1.1 (Jan 09, 2017)
    you can check the version in the inspector :)

    It looks like a bug that should be fixed in the latest version...
    You could fix it by setting the position and the rotation of the layer's gameobject to (0,0,0).
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  8. gecko

    gecko

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,743
    The inspector for what file in the project? I can't find anything that shows version.

    The Asset Store thinks I have the latest -- most files are datestamped Jan 6.

    The layers are already at 0,0,0 position and rotation.
     
  9. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Here the version location


    Try to set position and rotation of your character's skinnedMesh to (0,0,0)
    It won't change the position in the world because vertices position are driven by the bones.

    If it doesn't fix the problem, could you send me a sample scene? (contact@kalagaan.com)
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  10. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Procedural Shader V2 coming soon :)
    Better lighting, receive & cast shadows, alpha
    better control of each parameter (width, length, density, thickness, color bias...)
    faster than V1 :D


    Here the settings
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
    neoshaman likes this.
  11. neoshaman

    neoshaman

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Posts:
    3,534
    I can't wait to try it, but I have some bug in my terrain system to hone, I'm agonizing :eek:
     
  12. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    another test

     
    punk, neoshaman and wetcircuit like this.
  13. punk

    punk

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    365
    @kalagaan I finally got this today, I gotta say its super impressive do you have any plans to implement some form of collision similar to vertex motion?
     
  14. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Thank you :)
    I'll do a collision system, I think I'll add some custom vectors to the motion zones, and you'll be able to add motion zones on other gameObjects for interactions. I have to do some tests :)
     
    punk likes this.
  15. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    One of the new haircut & beard for the procedural V2 demo.

    I've added more controls for hair width and shape.
     
    nxrighthere and punk like this.
  16. Casanuda

    Casanuda

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Hi,

    Is it possible to do long hair with this asset?

    Thanks
    Cas
     
  17. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Yes, there's a long hair generator
    here some samples using the procedural hair shader V2



    Here Zorg from the 5 element :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2017
    punk and kurotatsu like this.
  18. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Version 1.2.0 has been submitted to the assetStore :)
    It should be available next week!

     
    punk and kurotatsu like this.
  19. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Version 1.2.0 available ;)
     
    kurotatsu and punk like this.
  20. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Working on wind FX :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2017
  21. HummerBumble

    HummerBumble

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    I've been having issues with this new shader (v2) and using on-camera anti-aliasing, it's causing a lot of colour flickering. I've tried different anti-alising solutions including unity's in build provided one and it still causes it. I wondered if this is an issue I'm only experiencing?


    Edit: Added reference image, it looks subtle here but at you increase the distance it flickers more violently.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2017
  22. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Hi,
    could you try to set the Rim color to black, or the smoothness to 0 ?
    It's maybe an problem with the lighting...
    Could you send me a sample scene by email ? (contact@kalagaan.com)
    I'll check it ;)
     
  23. HummerBumble

    HummerBumble

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks, I've just sent you a example project.
     
    kalagaan likes this.
  24. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    I don't know why the Antialiasing script do this weird effect...
    Anyway... there's 2 ways to fix it :

    1) change the Antialiasing mode (works with FXAA2 )
    or
    2) set the RIM color to black & the smoothness to 0 in the Material properties of the HairDesigner layer.

    Or you can try another antialiasing script from the assetstore :p
     
    kurotatsu likes this.
  25. HummerBumble

    HummerBumble

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks for having a look, it seems HDR is actually the issue in my project, with or without the anti-aliasing but I can't replicate it any where else. It might be my strange lighting setup, I'll run a few more tests and let you know.
     
    kurotatsu likes this.
  26. wetcircuit

    wetcircuit

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Posts:
    823
    This use to be a common issue in Unity4 and the "twinklies" or "sparkles" went crazy in early Unity5 with the PBR shaders… As I recall there were some AA methods that worked better than others on this specific issue (sorry I don't remember the alphabet soup, FXAA maybe?)…. Essentially it is a too high shininess/smoothness setting that concentrates a LOT of highlight in a very narrow beam, the result is a single-pixel highlight "pop"…. HDR highlights are much brighter and that sends it into overdrive.

    I did a quick search and came across several old discussions, maybe some are helpful (but you might need to do some digging)…. search google for "Unity white sparkle artifact" or similar words.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2017
    kalagaan, hopeful and kurotatsu like this.
  27. HummerBumble

    HummerBumble

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Cheers for the info, I didn't realize this was a common issue but it's interesting to know why it's doing it. I found a few threads with similar issues (revolving around sparkly artifact trees), but nothing incredibly helpful.
    After a bit of testing I have come across an aa technique called "DLAA" which seems to remove the problem around 95% with the occasional sparkle, which doesn't look too bad.
     
    wetcircuit, kalagaan and kurotatsu like this.
  28. Steviebops

    Steviebops

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Posts:
    95
    Im having a problem, my prefabs have to be scaled and rotated for my game, but when I try to pain hair on a scaled prefab, the hair appears at the character's feet.

    I have reset the position of the skinned object, but it has no effect.

    Hair Designer is v1.2.0
    Unity is v5.5.2
     
  29. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    This problem will be fixed in the 1.2.1, it should be available in a few days.
    Could you send me an email with your invoice number (contact@kalagaan.com)?
    I'll send you a patch. ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2017
  30. zetorchen

    zetorchen

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    A question: Dose this mobile surported? (IOS & Android).
     
  31. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    No, HairDesigner doesn't support mobile yet.
    I'll think about a way to bake the procedural shader into a texture atlas.
     
  32. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Version 1.2.1 available :)
     
    punk and HummerBumble like this.
  33. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    I'm working on a new fur layer :D
    version 1.3.0 comming soon!!!

     
    punk and kurotatsu like this.
  34. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    So much fun to use it !!!! :p

    upload_2017-3-18_18-33-30.png
     
    punk and kurotatsu like this.
  35. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    :D

     
    punk and kurotatsu like this.
  36. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    This layer is compatible with motion zones :)

     
    punk and hopeful like this.
  37. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Working on texture mask and brush tools :)

     
    punk and wetcircuit like this.
  38. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    The brush tool is ready :)
    Now I'll focus on the color painting

     
    punk and wetcircuit like this.
  39. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    1,641
  40. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Thx :)
    It's very very fun to use!!!
    You can do that in 2 minutes :p
     
  41. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Long fur & gravity :)

     
    punk and hopeful like this.
  42. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Paint tool done :)

     
    LurkingNinjaDev and wetcircuit like this.
  43. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    a fur game :D

     
    punk likes this.
  44. LurkingNinjaDev

    LurkingNinjaDev

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    815
    I am thinking about purchasing this tool. Any news about the quote? Mostly I intend to use it with UMA so to be useful for me it has to support bone weights and run-time changes. Could you please publish the documentation separately? It would be useful to be able to read it before purchase.
     
  45. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    The short hair and the long hair layers don't support blendshape yet.
    But on this new fur layer, the geometry is based on textures, so it works with blendshape, and should be easier to make it compatible wih UMA. I'll do some tests after the next release (1.3.0)
    I'm working on the documentation, I'll post it soon to this thread ;) and I'll also do a video tutorial.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2017
  46. neoshaman

    neoshaman

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Posts:
    3,534
    UMA don't work with blendshape, it's bone based, but blendshape are welcime addition :p
     
  47. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    680
    Oh! my mistake you're right :p
    The problem with UMA is that the mesh is generated at realtime, and the HairDesigner component won't work.
    I have to create some kind of export system for generating the haircut at runtime.
     
  48. neoshaman

    neoshaman

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Posts:
    3,534
    What do you mean at runtime? It's basically bone based mesh, so if you support skin mesh there would be no problem?

    Well aide that you can stitch part that were separated for replacement (like hiding the foot for the shoes) which would qualify, but this is more the default option than the rules. Ie the system is not bound to one mesh, people can create their own to fit their need.
     
  49. LurkingNinjaDev

    LurkingNinjaDev

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    815
    Ehm. Here is how it works (UMA): we have a base mesh (https://github.com/umasteeringgroup/content-pack) with bones and weights and everything. We can import that, use as a base model (this is how the additional clothes made). But the main concern is to attach the hair to _any_ runtime mesh and use their bones/weights from that particular model.
    But the main thing is this: when I change the bones (deform the model) run-time I need the hair to be able to follow this change. So it has to be able to change itself through the bones.

    (Blendshapes will be useful too, for examle Morph3D works that way - when it works at all - and UMA will have that feature in the foreseeable future.)

    Since you have the product, I'd like to ask you to download the latest UMA 2.5 and take a look. There are a couple of demo scenes in the package where you can see how it works. There are a couple of hair samples. If your system could be used like that, that would be the 'instant buy' stamp for me and I guess for the other UMA users as well.
     
    hopeful likes this.
  50. ORKA43

    ORKA43

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    that paint tool looks very impresif!