Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

HACKING, extremely important

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by abul_ooz, Oct 7, 2009.

1. abul_ooz

abul_ooz

Hi All,
    I am testing a multiplayer game locally on our local network.

today i found a hacker that connected and hosted a game that i can join!!!!!!???

i checked his IP address and hes in another country?

is he hacking into the local network and getting access to files on our hard disks and launching the game and creating a session???

how can i prevent hacking?

please help, thanks

2. MikeHergaarden

MikeHergaarden

I guess you are using the masterserver and have not changed your games name that you use for the masterserver list.

3. abul_ooz

abul_ooz

so when i change the game name noone can access it except people who have the game name?

sorry, im a newbie

4. MikeHergaarden

MikeHergaarden

Yes, since you were probably using the same gamename for the masterserver as the unity networking tutorials(?) anyoe could see your game being hosted, and you could see other people games...even though the games itself might be completely different.

5. abul_ooz

abul_ooz

oh ok, i panicked there for minute... thought there was a hacker or something.

so this is dont to test connectivity and multiplayer functions like joining games, hosting games and such.

but u cant test actual ingame functions like character damage etc cos u might be loading a completely different game that happens to have the same gamename...

right?

6. MikeHergaarden

MikeHergaarden

If I understand you well:

Yes, you'll always be able to connect..but the networking and game logic wont match...so network messages will make no sense and will probably generate errors.

7. abul_ooz

abul_ooz

ok great, thanks for ur help

cheers

8. haxoan87

haxoan87

thanks , I'm a newbie .I have a question :