Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Other [Guide] How to Setup Visual Scripting (2022)

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by REDACT3D_, Oct 21, 2022.

  1. REDACT3D_

    REDACT3D_

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2020
    Posts:
    222
    A while back we had to import the Bolt package from the package manager, but nowadays Visual Scripting is Built-in. However you will still need to initialize it in your project. Here is how to setup Visual Scripting for your project as of 2022.

    Let's begin from nothing and create a new project file.
    I'm going to select the HDRP Core because that's the one I use all the time.
    Let's call it Visual Scripting Demo Project to be super creative.
    1.PNG


    This is every step so hang onto your pants.
    Loading up Unity 2022 HDRP CORE
    2.PNG


    Okay, we're in.
    I'm going to leave the Scene as default
    Normally I would remove the Text file for HDRP and other stuff like import packages at this point too.
    3.PNG

    To make it super easy, I'm going to start by adding an Empty Game Object to apply a Graph Component to.
    4.png


    Okay, we added our blank object in the Hierarchy.
    5.png
     
  2. REDACT3D_

    REDACT3D_

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2020
    Posts:
    222
    Next, we can add a Component from the Inspector. Let's create a simple Graph Machine.
    6.png

    You can Choose from State Machine or Graph Machine.
    It will be obvious what one you want to use later on.
    7.png

    It has been added with no state file to reference. let's create one.
    8.PNG

    Click on NEW and save it to Assets.
    9.PNG

    10.png
     
  3. REDACT3D_

    REDACT3D_

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2020
    Posts:
    222
    Now just click on EDIT GRAPH, and it'll set it up for you.
    11.PNG

    12.png

    It'll open the graph when it's done doing it's thing.
    BAM done.
    13.PNG
     
  4. TECHNODEV1

    TECHNODEV1

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Oh wow, I have been trying to get "bolt" for an hour straight. now realising it is not called that anymore and everything is already built in. Thanks!
     
  5. DaAxolotlot

    DaAxolotlot

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    how do i fix the "could not load niceIO" error?