Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Guidance for implementing deformable meshes

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by JonBFS, Aug 7, 2020.

1. JonBFS

JonBFS

I'm new to ECS but am interested in learning it for the speed performance and data-oriented simplicity for a VR game idea that I have.

It requires the player to throw meshes at another target mesh and for it to deform from the impact.

I'm pretty sure that it can be done using a combination of packages that use DOTS such as the hybrid renderer and unity physics. There's samples and leads on the unity physics front for getting collision events, but I haven't found much on deforming meshes and moving vertices around so that I can change how the mesh looks based on impact.

Are there any links or samples where this is done?

2. burningmime

burningmime

I've done stuff with dynamic meshes before, and written about it on various posts, eg:

https://forum.unity.com/threads/draw-generated-meshes-custom-hybrid-renderer.938231/#post-6135044

In this case, my suggestion would be to not use hybrid renderer, DOTS physics, or ECS at all (unless you're already using it or really passionate about using experimental tech). Just use a regular
    MeshRenderer
    and collider workflow you're used to. Then do something like this:

1. Get the Mesh you want to modify (eg from the
    sharedMesh
    component of the
    MeshRenderer
    MonoBehaviour.
    2. Call
    MarkDynamic()

3. Get the existing vertices into a
    NativeArray

4. On the frame the mesh needs to be deformed, spawn a deformation job with the current deformation status.
    5. In that job, modify vertex positions.
    6. Somewhere late in the frame or even on the next frame,
    Complete
    the job, set data on the mesh, and
    UploadMeshData(false)