Search Unity

GUID conflicts - 2018.3

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by JamesWjRose, Dec 11, 2018.

  1. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    687
    I am getting hundreds of the following errors:

    GUID [d4351734f8a0aaa42a51a99db92e92e2] for asset 'Packages/com.unity.postprocessing/PostProcessing/Editor/Tools/ResourceAssetFactory.cs' conflicts with:
    'Assets/Gaia Dependencies/PostProcessing-2/PostProcessing/Editor/Tools/ResourceAssetFactory.cs' (current owner)
    We can't assign a new GUID because the asset is in an immutable folder. The asset will be ignored.

    This is happening for multiple objects.

    I found this ref https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...plicate-guids-for-plugins-shipped-in-packages so I updated to 2018.3, since the article states that this issue has been resolved. Yet, I am still having it.

    I asked about this on reddit and was told I could simply change the guid in the .meta file. However before I do that I thought I would check here to see if I can get confirmation of the issue or another solution.

    Thanks kindly
     
  2. glenneroo

    glenneroo

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Posts:
    231
    Hitting the exact same issue here, also with 2018.3.0f2 and Post Processing 2.1.2 via Package Manager.
     
  3. mick129

    mick129

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Posts:
    228
    Same problem here
    upload_2018-12-27_1-31-30.png
     
  4. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    687
    I know this is not helpful, I had to restart my project because of this and a few other issues, mostly because of the other issues. (I have several beta assets)

    You may consider creating a testbed project and importing your assets to see when/if this happens again. Sorry I haven't found an actual solution
     
  5. glenneroo

    glenneroo

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Posts:
    231
    I used the recommended solution from the reddit thread you found, that is, open all of the .meta files which are listed as warnings in Unity. Then, use a website such as guidgenerator.com to generate new GUIDs (don't forget to turn off "hyphens") and paste a new GUID into each of the .meta files to replace the existing GUID. I had to do this to ~72 files, so it took about 10 minutes to replace them all. I even left Unity open, when giving Unity focus again, it detected the changes and reloaded the Assets. Now everything works and I have no more GUID warnings!
     
    y01cu, Asymmetric and JamesWjRose like this.
  6. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    687
    Awesome! Good to know.

    I had other issues, so starting the project over and moving components was of value for me. You rule for trying that out.
     
  7. irisp

    irisp

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    JamesWjRose likes this.
  8. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    687
  9. DevilCult

    DevilCult

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    What the error says exactly is you have 2 postprocessing folder, one in com.unity.... and one in your project. Delete the one from your project, no more conflict ;p
     
  10. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    687
    Thanks Devil, I ended up having to redo the project because of a number of issue, but it's great to know the answer. You rule. Have a great week
     
    DevilCult likes this.
  11. DarkryCZ

    DarkryCZ

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Oh man this was so helpful... I know this is a year old post, but this simple comment helped me fix the problem that bugged me to hard. I read so many posts about how people had to completly redo their own work and make a new project and so on and I myself gave up and wanted to just ignore those messages, cuz everything else worked fine.

    For those who still don't know- Open your project file (The one you create when you make a new project) and then follow the path that Unity says is problematic. For me it was -project name-/Assets/Plugins and -project name-/Assets/Editor.
    I just deleted those files and all works :)
     
    RicaPT, PolygonPros and DevilCult like this.
  12. laikyfairres

    laikyfairres

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    i re-created this issue by simply ctrl+D (duplicate)ing a texture. seems as if it keeps the same GUID through the dupe
     
  13. MED_AMCH

    MED_AMCH

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you very mush 'DevilCult' That solved the problem
    it was a conflict between two Post Processing Folders
     
  14. S0paTa

    S0paTa

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    The solution for me was to use this tool to generate a GUID (it is important to disable the usage of hyphens): https://codebeautify.org/guid-generator
    Then replace the GUID in the .meta file of the problematic class with the newly generated one.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2022