Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

GridLayout vertical start axis displaying weird behaviour

Discussion in 'Unity UI & TextMesh Pro' started by senritsu, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. senritsu

    senritsu

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    37
    Not sure where this comes from, but when i tried all the settings on the Grid Layout Group, i noticed some weird behaviour when the Start Axis is set to Vertical.

    I would assume that it works like horizontal, so it starts to fill its first column (instead of row) and if that is full it starts the second. What actually happens is some strange mixture of vertical and horizontal flow.

    When i add elements, it first fills up the first row (exactly like horizontal), and as soon as it has no more space, it switches to a vertical-first layout, but still not quite. This is easier shown than said, so here goes:

    Webplayer

    Now it does say the webplayer will only work on my computer because it is built using a beta version. Does that mean it only works on computers who have the beta installed, or really only on my computer? In which case i would have to upload in some different format D:
     
  2. Melang

    Melang

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Posts:
    166
    I have the same behaviour of the GridLayout, maybe it's a bug? Your webplayer works fine for me by the way.
     
  3. runevision

    runevision

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Nice demonstration. Can you file a bug report with the project attached that was used for that webplayer? Thanks.
     
  4. senritsu

    senritsu

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    37
    Submitted a bug report from inside Unity, which should have the project attached.
    From how it looked this is done by default, right?
     
  5. Tim-C

    Tim-C

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,026
    So long as it's the open project then yes :)
     
  6. Pencr

    Pencr

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    FYI, this bug is still occurring in unity 4.6.1p2.
    Except I noticed it the other way around, vertical works as expected, but horizontal behave weirdly.
    My recttransform has a bigger width than height, and yours a bigger height than width. Could be why makes it work in a direction and not the other.

    Thread is a bit old, so I don't know if it is still relevant to post here, but I thought I should point it out.
     
  7. TheDemiurge

    TheDemiurge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    28
    Broken again in 2017.1.1f1...
    Vertical behaves correctly when Constraint is set to "Flexible". But when set to "Fixed Column Count" it starts doing the strange behavior.