Search Unity

Question Gravity pull not taken into account in Physics2D.simulate

Discussion in 'Physics' started by portalobbqueen, May 9, 2023.

1. portalobbqueen

portalobbqueen

Hello! I'm new to Unity and I think I'm not getting how Physics2D.simulate works.

I'm trying to implement a trajectory prediction in a 2D outer space game with line renderer using the physics simulation method presented here: https://austin-mackrell.medium.com/unity-trajectory-prediction-simulation-method-5b441ee1604

I implemented as in the post: a physicscene copy of the actual scene is created, clones of the planets and the player are moved there.

Then I run physicsScene2D.simulate method X iterations in the future to make my prediction when the player aims and the line renderer draws at each iteration the simulated player's position.

Here is the simulated launch code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public void SimulateLaunch(Transform player, Vector3 force)
    2.     {
    4.         _simulatedPlayer.transform.position = player.position;
    5.         _simulatedPlayer.transform.rotation = player.rotation;
    6.         _simulatedPlayer.GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>().velocity = Vector3.zero;
    8.         if(_lastforce != force)
    9.         {
    10.             _simulatedPlayer.GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>().AddForce(force);
    11.             for (int i = 0; i < _maxSimulSteps; i++)
    12.             {
    13.                 _physicsScene.Simulate(Time.fixedDeltaTime);
    15.                 points[i] = _simulatedPlayer.transform.position;
    16.                 trajectoryLine.SetPosition(i, points[i]);
    17.             }
    18.         }
    19.         _lastforce = force;
    21.     }

However, I have GameObjects representing planets that exert a gravity pull on my player.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void FixedUpdate()
    2.     {
    5.         float distance = Vector2.Distance(player.transform.position, transform.position);
    6.         if (distance < influenceRange)