Search Unity

Resolved Gravity after animation

Discussion in 'Animation' started by PenProd, Jan 15, 2023.

1. PenProd

PenProd

II have a book that's in a book case. When a user clicks on it, I want to animate it sliding out of the book case, after which it should fall to the ground. Since I'm new to Unity, I'm a bit confused how to do this.

The book has a box collider with "Is Trigger" enabled (so you can click on it). The book also has the RigidBody component and if I enable gravity, it simply falls through the bookcase and even trough the floor.

So how can I get it to do what I want?

2. PenProd

PenProd

Ok, I'm beginning to understand a little bit more in which direction I should go from here.

First of all, I disabled the book's "Is Trigger" so it properly collides with the book case it's in. Then I created an empty child gameobject with a box collider that will serve as the trigger.

On the book itself, I have enabled "Gravity" as well as "Is Kinematic" so I can move it using an animation without physics being applied to it. Then when the book is in its final position, I can disable "Is Kinematic" and gravity should take over. That sounds great in theory.

But apparently, I cannot use an Animator component to move the object. Because when the animation ends, the books position stays fixed at that point and gravity can't change it. Because I haven't animated it's rotation, as soon as I disable "Is Kinematic", the book starts rotating wildly while it's position in space remains the same.

I thought that enabling "Apply Root Motion" would fix this, but then the movement for some reason gets reversed. So instead of moving out of the book case, it moves in the opposite direction.

So am I correct that I can't use the Animator component in this case? Can I only animate through a script?

3. PenProd

PenProd

Another update.