Search Unity

Grass on mesh for a mobile device

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Aseemy, Oct 20, 2021.

1. Aseemy

Aseemy

Need to create grass on mesh (not terrain) which would run on a mobile device.
    a great example is from a game called Golf Clash

Need the grass to cover a whole lot of area, tried with prefabs but that makes the fps unplayable. the grass wont be visible all the time but only when camera is close enough, rest of the time the ground will have a texture only.

I tried this tutorial from Roystan https://roystan.net/articles/grass-shader.html and the result looked great but it only worked for PC and not mobile devices, it uses tessellation which is not supported by most mobile devices.

I am not good at shaders so cant convert this tutorial to work on a mobile device. from what i understand, this shader uses tessellation to get spawn points, maybe that could be obtained in a different way.

So looking for anyone who has ideas on how to achieve the golf clash grass look and performance.

2. Aseemy

Aseemy

bump
    if grass on mesh is not possible i am willing to try something with terrain. the reason I wanted mesh was that i have different meshes with different physics layer and material for different types of bounces. Will that be possible with terrain?

3. neginfinity

neginfinity

A quick google search shows that geometry shaders and tesselators require OpenGL ES 3.2 for mobile devices.

Does it have to be done through a shader? What's the use case? Should the grass grow on a moving object?

To draw multiple meshes you could try using DrawMeshInstanced or just prepare entire geometry.

4. Aseemy

Aseemy

yea, i saw that and most of the devices i have to support dont have OpenGL ES 3.2

not necessarily, use case is to create a similar game as Golf Clash, video shared in first post.

Will try this. thanks.

5. mgear

mgear

i've seen these demos, this one has github project available