Search Unity

Bug Graphics crash at start in laptop

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Caparrini, Nov 27, 2022.

  1. Caparrini

    Caparrini

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    65
    When running the build in a Laptop (Gygabyte Aero 15 YD), the graphics crash from the beginning. It outputs this error log. Any idea what it might be?

    XRSystem.ReleaseFrame() was not called!
    UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:LogFormat(LogType, Object, String, Object[])
    UnityEngine.Logger:Log(LogType, Object)
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning(Object)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.XRSystem:SetupFrame(List`1, Boolean, Boolean) (at C:\UnityProjects\Drone\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@12.1.7\Runtime\RenderPipeline\XR\XRSystem.cs:117)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDRenderPipeline:Render(ScriptableRenderContext, List`1) (at C:\UnityProjects\Drone\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@12.1.7\Runtime\RenderPipeline\HDRenderPipeline.cs:1162)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipeline:InternalRender(ScriptableRenderContext, List`1) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime\Export\RenderPipeline\RenderPipeline.cs:51)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager:DoRenderLoop_Internal(RenderPipelineAsset, IntPtr, List`1) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime\Export\RenderPipeline\RenderPipelineManager.cs:115)

    IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.BufferedRTHandleSystem.Swap () [0x000c0] in C:\UnityProjects\Drone\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.core@12.1.7\Runtime\Textures\BufferedRTHandleSystem.cs:188
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.BufferedRTHandleSystem.SwapAndSetReferenceSize (System.Int32 width, System.Int32 height) [0x00002] in C:\UnityProjects\Drone\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.core@12.1.7\Runtime\Textures\BufferedRTHandleSystem.cs:132
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDCamera.SetReferenceSize () [0x00025] in C:\UnityProjects\Drone\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@12.1.7\Runtime\RenderPipeline\Camera\HDCamera.cs:991
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDCamera.BeginRender (UnityEngine.Rendering.CommandBuffer cmd) [0x00002] in C:\UnityProjects\Drone\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@12.1.7\Runtime\RenderPipeline\Camera\HDCamera.cs:1018
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDRenderPipeline.ExecuteRenderRequest (UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDRenderPipeline+RenderRequest renderRequest, UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext renderContext, UnityEngine.Rendering.CommandBuffer cmd, UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.AOVRequestData aovRequest) [0x0008b] in C:\UnityProjects\Drone\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@12.1.7\Runtime\RenderPipeline\HDRenderPipeline.cs:1980
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDRenderPipeline.Render (UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext renderContext, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] cameras) [0x00f13] in C:\UnityProjects\Drone\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@12.1.7\Runtime\RenderPipeline\HDRenderPipeline.cs:1876
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipeline.InternalRender (UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext context, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] cameras) [0x0001f] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime\Export\RenderPipeline\RenderPipeline.cs:51
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager.DoRenderLoop_Internal (UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineAsset pipe, System.IntPtr loopPtr, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] renderRequests) [0x00049] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime\Export\RenderPipeline\RenderPipelineManager.cs:115
     
  2. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    5,063
    Which unity version?
    What hdrp version?
    Do you use VR?
    Do you use ray tracing? (VR and Ray tracing are not compatible atm)
    What PC specs? (I'm not going to google your laptop and dig into the specs)
    Is it crashing in a build? When starting unity? When entering play mode?
     
  3. Caparrini

    Caparrini

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    65
    It crashes on an IL2CPP build

    Unity version: 2021.3.7
    HDRP version: 12.1.7
    No VR
    No RayTracing

    Laptop specs:
    Operating System: Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22621) (22621.ni_release.220506-1250)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: GIGABYTE
    System Model: AERO 15 YD
    Processor: 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-11800H @ 2.30GHz (16 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
    Memory: 16384MB RAM
    GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Laptop GPU
     
  4. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    5,063
    First update gpu drivers and unity to the latest lts.
    And maybe reimport the project/delete the library folder?
     
  5. Caparrini

    Caparrini

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    65
    GPU Drivers are up to date, and after trying a new build with the latest Unity 2021 LTS, it keeps giving the same error. Any idea?
     
  6. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    5,063
    Did you already reimport the project or try a completely new projects to see if you can reproduce?
     
  7. Caparrini

    Caparrini

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    65
    Just with my project. I haven't tried with an empty project since it is hard for me to iterate with it because is not my computer that fails but one of my testers. Nonetheless, I just got someone else with the same issue, and the only common factor between them is that they both use Windows 11 Pro. Is there any known issues with Windows 11 and HDRP?
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2022
  8. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    5,063
    Could be? Maybe upgrading unity to the latest lts might help?
     
  9. Caparrini

    Caparrini

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    65
    I did try too. With the latest of 2021 and the latest of 2022 with no different result.
     
  10. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    5,063
    Does it happen on your laptop? If so, make a bug report with a minimal reproduction project
     
  11. Caparrini

    Caparrini

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    65
    It doesn't happen on my computers, that's what makes it harder to try. But I'll file a bug report and see if they can find something
     
  12. Caparrini

    Caparrini

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Posts:
    65
    More people have been encountering the same issue with Windows 10, so it seems like the OS is not a factor on the issue.