Search Unity

goto command

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Andy, Apr 1, 2007.

1. Andy

Andy

Is there a goto command in JavaScript. I did some searching an it does not appear to be part of the JavaScript language. Is there a way to do that in JS?

Thanks

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

I'm assuming this is an April Fools joke. :)

--Eric

3. Andy

Andy

Well, Eric sadly I have to report that it is not a joke. Also I should mention that I am a beginner programmer, beginner JSer, and beginner game designer. :oops: What I am trying to do is this: I have a long script and I would like to jump to the end and not execute a large chunk of it, in other words just skip a chunk of the script if some condition is met. It seems that a "goto" like command might do something like this.

Tks

4. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

OK, sorry...you know what they say about assuming. :) Anyway, no goto command. It's very 1970s. And much horribleness arises from it....

Is there any reason why you can't use an if statement?

Code (csharp):
    2. if (!someCondition) {
    3.    //do stuff here
    4. }
    That way the stuff in the if statement is only run if someCondition isn't true. (Equivalent to writing "if (someCondition == false)") But you probably already know about that. You can also use "return" to end a function early:

Code (csharp):
    2. function doSomeStuff () {
    3.    // do some stuff here
    4.    if (someCondition) {
    5.       return;
    6.    }
    7.    // do more stuff here
    8. }
    The return means the function is ended early at that point and "do more stuff here" is never executed. Or you can use a while loop:

Code (csharp):
    2. while (!someCondition) {
    3.   // do stuff here
    4. }
    That way the loop will run only as long as someCondition is false, and stops when it turns true.