Search Unity

Google translate for different languages

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SamohtVII, May 14, 2019.

1. SamohtVII

SamohtVII

I am a solo dev looking to minimise cost as much as possible. My game is a driving game with minimal text dialog (No voice acting) like "Play", "Buy" a few intro sentences and tutorial levels.
    Would I get away with using google translate to make it available to different languages? I feel a racing/drifting game would target japan a lot so would want to have the option for them (And others).
    Anyone had any experience or bi-lingual and know that google translate is good/bad?
    I'm no AAA developer so not expecting a flawless 100% $100,000 game here. Just looking to make it slightly more accessible.

Thanks

2. Probably not. I would rather hire someone on Fiverr to translate them properly, if it's not too much text, they do it for a reasonable price.

Google translate is neat to understand a foreign language or even to get a clue if you want to talk in a foreign language, but I wouldn't release anything substantial using it, it's still too error prone. Maybe a couple of years from now.

3. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

4. Baste

Baste

For single-word translations, you could try to use the Microsoft Language portal. You can search for a translation of a word, and it'll give you a list of how that word has been translated in a bunch of Microsoft products, together with definitions.

We've used that in a pinch for last minute additions to menus, after the "proper" translation has landed.

For even simple sentences, you should probably get somebody to do them for you. If it's an indie game and a sentence or two, you could get away by having it done by non-professionals (ie. fans) if you can find somebody interested.

Ryiah and Ony like this.
  5. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored