Search Unity

Good scripting component design

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by x6herbius, Nov 28, 2020.

1. x6herbius

x6herbius

I'm a relatively experienced programmer, but am new to Unity and its particular design philosophy. I have been looking at how to write C# scripts for game objects and I think I'm getting the hang of it, but I wanted to ask some questions about best practices when doing this.

As a personal exercise, I've been working on making a simple third person controller script, which manages the movement of a player character (a cube right now) and a camera in relation to it. At the moment, the script is attached to the cube object itself, and the camera is provided using a public
    Camera
    member on the script. I'd like the movement to be kinematic because it gives me more control, so I gather I'll shortly have to look into handling the resolving of collisions myself.

This approach seems to work fine as far as my experiments have gone, but I would argue it has the following limitations:
    • It relies on the correct elements being plugged in together: a camera must be provided, and the object being controlled must have some collider as one of its components.
    • By virtue of the above, there are situations where the script would not be in a valid state (eg. if a camera is not provided, the script has no way to get the "forward" direction for motion). This means that the script has to contain extra logic to check these corner cases, and has to know how to gracefully handle when not all the required pieces are present.
    • If I were to make this system more complex, I might want to modularise it by isolating different functionalities into different script components. This would compound the above problems, as different scripts may have to look one another up (eg. by calling
      GetComponent()
      ) and handle when an expected script does not exist.