Search Unity

Good JAVA book

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by togril, Apr 25, 2008.

1. togril

togril

HI.
    I was looking at books on JAVA today - so many I got "option paralysis".
    Can anyone recomend a good learning JAVA book?
    (to use with unity).
    I have some experience of MEL.
    I know a little about classes, objects and methods. I may not be the most mathmatical bunny around.

Thanks.
    Tog

2. jashan

jashan

Hi Togril,

are you sure you want a Java-book? Unity supports JavaScript, C# and Boo, but not Java... We've had a thread not too long ago on the forums discussing ways to learn OO programming - there were a few tutorials linked.

I guess you should easily find that by searching java tutorial (yeah, we did discuss Java there, too - to learn the concepts, but you can't use the language itself in Unity, and since there's also good C# tutorials out there, I would no longer recommened going the Java route... unless you have a lot of time ;-) ).

Sunny regards,
    Jashan

3. Dreamora

Dreamora

Head First: Java is a great book and helps to understand the concepts of ideas worlds faster than with most "technical" books

4. togril

togril

there you go: Java/javaScript!..I'll check out the HeadFirst book.
    Basically I am trying to work out the best Language to learn, your right: not a lot of time.
    I want to be able to learn something that is usable in other apps specific to gaming / interactive.
    Thanks.

Tog.

5. Charles Hinshaw

Charles Hinshaw

... still java != javascript.

From quirksmode:

6. rapidrunner

rapidrunner

if i would suggest something, i would say to learn first OOP; since whatever language you want to use is the same, in the conceptual view, if is a OO language :)