Search Unity

Goldeneye N64 Remake

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by brilliantgames, Mar 10, 2016.

1. brilliantgames

brilliantgames

Hey everyeone. As a full time game developer, I have always been a huge Goldeneye fan. I decided to make a Goldeneye remake for fun as a side project. This demo you see is the result of just a few days of work, using my FPS system and custom lighting engine. The demo is running in Unity engine and the Facility map is a direct rip from the game. Let me know your thoughts!

A question for someone who knows about licensing. If I were to release this on WebGL as a fan made remake of Goldeneye for free, could I get in trouble?

2. mattmanj17

mattmanj17

That looks really cool!

I am no expert on copyright, but this might help

http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/ne...ws+(Gamasutra+News)&utm_content=Google+Reader

it is probably a good idea to assume the worst when it comes to licening issues. Because you are using (what appear to be at least, it been a long time since i played goldeneye) the sounds from the game (ie, the james bond theme), and the exact level from the game, it is likly suspect.

If you just posted what you had as it is, no one would probly notice/care about it. If you 100% remade goldeneye in this style, things might go south.

If you had original (or public domain) sounds, levels, etc, and the game was just very "goldeneye esc" (in terms of the article, you would be relying on "unprotected game elements"), there wouldnt be a problem.

theANMATOR2b likes this.
  3. behemothentertainment

behemothentertainment