Search Unity

"Global" State synchronization

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Flamboozle, May 15, 2019.

1. Flamboozle

Flamboozle

Hello I am new to Unity networking and I am refactoring a single player game from the ground up to include multiplayer. I need help figuring out how to sync a game state.

In my game, there is a world class that holds a big 2D array of tiles that has some information about the tile (it ID, Variation,etc...). I want to make a peer to peer game (like minecraft), where the host chooses one of his worlds to load up. When a new player joins, it should load that same world.

And as for updating the tiles, I imagine each player would now have a copy of the world. When one player breaks a tile, it will update that information to all players/possibly re-render the chunk for any player in range.

Right now, I have the WorldManager as a singleton class where the Player can interact with the current world. (world.SetTile(x,y), world.BreakTile(x,y), world.HasTile(x,y), etc...). I can't just use a syncvar because it is a big class with non primitive data types. What is the best way to redesign this structure so that I can keep a "global" state class that satisfies these two conditions:

1. The host loads the world state when he starts the server/each player loads the current world state when they join.
    2. Any time a player affects the world state it will change the state for all players
    (Think of it exactly like a minecraft multiplayer server)

Any help or advice is appreciated, thanks.

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Don't just now start learning Unet a year after it has been deprecated and Unity has started purging it from the scripting reference. Choose another network API.