Search Unity

Global cordinates system for game objects

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by RisenSnake, May 22, 2023.

  1. RisenSnake

    RisenSnake

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Right, so I want to make a classic Nintendo 90s 2D title screen for spress start, then 1P, 2P, Options, Insert Coin. Problem is, unity gives each type of object in the editor it's own variable cordinate field instead of a constant global field, for example;

    2D object, sprite, circle; 0,0,0
    UI, image; -459.05, -199.4, 0

    Camera is in 2D object coordinate field, maybe UI needs to be in same one. I'm stuck on the first hurdle of game development here!
     
  2. spiney199

    spiney199

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Posts:
    7,923
    Do you mean local position as opposed to world position? Unity's transform component displays the local position, but you have access to
    transform.position
    for world position, and
    transform.localPosition
    for, obviously, local positio in code.

    I'm not sure what the actual problem is here as you haven't clearly described the issue.
     
  3. RisenSnake

    RisenSnake

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Right, so I want to make a classic Nintendo 90s 2D title screen for spress start, then 1P, 2P, Options, Insert Coin. Problem is, unity gives each type of object in the editor it's own variable cordinate field instead of a constant global field, for example;

    UI, text, TextMeshPro; 0,0,0
    Position in game; randomly somewhere, not even a 2D object, just a 3D overlay to a 3D camera

    You can't even use your own system fonts as text, only a choice of about 5 fonts; Anton BELOR

    I read you load and crystal clear, your choice.

    I can optimize this game engine for 2D, but you have to pay me first. Marketplace loot goblins, give me my dues and I'll sort you out. Refuse my offer and I clean you out with superior software, OpenKai2D.
     
  4. RisenSnake

    RisenSnake

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Right, so I want to make a classic Nintendo 90s 2D title screen for spress start, then 1P, 2P, Options, Insert Coin. Problem is, unity doesn't allow for simply attaching a script to a game object such as TextMeshPro "Press Start" to get the words blinking and linked to an input trigger event.

    while true do
    TextMeshPro1 visibility 1
    TextMeshPro1 visibility 0
    break trigger_start

    In fact, now that I look around this software, how do you even add a script at all?

    Anto from Belfast 6/4 out of here I think
    ackennedywork@gmail.com if any free speechers out there want to really make their own dreams come true.
     
  5. spiney199

    spiney199

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Posts:
    7,923
  6. orionsyndrome

    orionsyndrome

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Posts:
    3,108
    OP is either drunk or this is the weirdest bot I've ever seen
     
    Bunny83, Nad_B and arkano22 like this.
  7. Nad_B

    Nad_B

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2021
    Posts:
    730
    upload_2023-5-22_11-3-14.jpeg
     
    orionsyndrome likes this.
  8. Nad_B

    Nad_B

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2021
    Posts:
    730
    Ha the famous AnimalMan...

    I'm not sure he's trolling intentionally though, I think it's just his character.
     
    orionsyndrome and Bunny83 like this.
  9. Nad_B

    Nad_B

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2021
    Posts:
    730
    Wow, bots are really becoming smart...
     
    Bunny83 likes this.
  10. orionsyndrome

    orionsyndrome

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Posts:
    3,108
    But do androids dream of edible dogs?