Search Unity

Giving users new levels for watching an ad

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by randytayler, Apr 10, 2015.

1. randytayler

randytayler

Total newbie here. Question for you folks.

The game I'm working on now will have lots of levels/maps, and would come with several free levels/maps to start. What are your thoughts on giving users new maps every time they watch an ad? I'm thinking maybe you unlock 2 levels every time you view an ad. Too few?

Is this a viable business model, or do you think it would just be obnoxious? I have no idea what kind of revenue I can expect for a single ad view, so maybe I'm selling myself short, or maybe I'm giving myself some other headache I haven't thought of.

Thoughts?

2. Kellyrayj

Kellyrayj

I think it would depend on how short the levels are. If I complete the levels in under a minute and then have to wAtch a 30 second ad right afterwards to keep playing, I'm not likely going to want to wait that long to continue playing.

randytayler likes this.
  3. Cherno

Cherno

Only if the game was a LOT of fun (to me) and the ads were only a few seconds long. Otherwise I wouldn't bother.

randytayler likes this.
  4. AndrewGrayGames

AndrewGrayGames

Even though from a developer point of view it seems reasonable, from a business point of view, it seems abysmally useless, I'd argue from a consumer's point of view it's worse - I forsee that coming off as lazy in the extreme.

Why not simply allow players to unlock levels by playing the game? Why not put the advertisement in a "good" place (for instance, @Gigiwoo's game Block64 has ads run before you get shown your feedback after a play session, and to me that seems like a very good and obtrusive decision.) Why not put a small price on your levels (e.g. $0.19 - $0.29 for a new level, for instant access?)