Search Unity

giving up Unity

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by GuilhermeZikan, Aug 9, 2019.

1. GuilhermeZikan

GuilhermeZikan

Hello guys, I'm giving up on Unity because I'm a week looking for the solution to my problem and I can't find it. I have tried several solutions, but the problem remains. Visual Studio takes a long time to compile even very small projects. Each change generates a wait of 15 to 30 seconds, which is very annoying and discouraging. I've been using Unity for 5 years and it's only now on Windows 10 that this crap happens. I'm thinking of switching to another engine just because of this problem that I don't find a solution. Can someone help me?

2. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

I'm having the same issue, Unity Editor is very unrepsonsive on my hardware. I've submitted various bug-reports and feedback items regarding this issue. You can find my reports at this link:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/peter77s-feedback-item-collection.695950/

As far as I understand various comments in different forum posts from Unity staff, they're looking into editor performance issues for 2019.3 or perhaps 2020.1, I don't remember. I trust Unity Technologies that they're going to make the editor responsive and fun to work with again. It's just not tomorrow.

BTW, I've also looked at other engines, Unreal specifically. But the Unreal editor is even slower than Unity, so not an option for me. Perhaps you've more luck.

Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
    Joe-Censored likes this.
  3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

What are the hardware specs of your computer?

4. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

Mine? You can find the specs at the bottom of this post:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/performance-overview.637783/#post-4298446

I'm aware that it's an old computer, but Unity 4.6 ran totally fine and was super fun to work with. That's why I reported various 2019.3 vs 4.6 comparisons, hoping they make new Unity versions as fast as 4.6 again.