Search Unity

Github isn't sharing my changes when I push and someone else pulls.

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by Man0li, Apr 19, 2021.

  1. Man0li

    Man0li

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    I hope this is the right place to ask this. So I've been working with DragonBones in Unity and I started by adding a DragonBones package to be able to make my animations and when I was finished I pushed my changes and merged my branch. I made a folder for each of my characters and in each of those folders was a .dbproj file to open it in DragonBones and a "library" folder that had textures, the DragonBones skeleton and whatever. When I made the commit, all of these files like _tex.json were showing that they were being added but when my teammates pulled, those DragonBones folders no longer had the "library" folder and their .dbproj file no longer opened up DragonBones (my file is green, theirs is white). Also, when they go on the branch with these changes, GitHub Desktop immediately has a bunch of changed files like the library folder.meta files being removed...

    The first guy that tried didn't have DragonBones on his computer so we thought maybe that's why but I got someone else to try it that did have DragonBones and they had the same issue. I don't know how else to share these changes and any help would be appreciated. :D

    Also if you are familiar with DragonBones, I had another thread here https://forum.unity.com/threads/how...er-animation-while-using-dragonbones.1092610/ that I still need help with. :p
     
  2. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,411
    how does your .gitignore file look like?
     
  3. Man0li

    Man0li

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    [Ll]ibrary/
    [Tt]emp/
    [Oo]bj/
    [Bb]uild/
    [Bb]uilds/
    [Ll]ogs/

    # Uncomment this line if you wish to ignore the asset store tools plugin
    # [Aa]ssets/AssetStoreTools*

    # Visual Studio cache directory
    .vs/

    # Gradle cache directory
    .gradle/

    # Autogenerated VS/MD/Consulo solution and project files
    ExportedObj/
    .consulo/
    *.csproj
    *.unityproj
    *.sln
    *.suo
    *.tmp
    *.user
    *.userprefs
    *.pidb
    *.booproj
    *.svd
    *.pdb
    *.mdb
    *.opendb
    *.VC.db

    # Unity3D generated meta files
    *.pidb.meta
    *.pdb.meta
    *.mdb.meta

    # Unity3D generated file on crash reports
    sysinfo.txt

    # Builds
    *.apk
    *.unitypackage

    # Crashlytics generated file
    crashlytics-build.properties


    I found this somewhere as a general use thing because I don't have much experience. I thought this might be the issue too so I changed the name of the folder in one of them from "library" (one of the bad words) to "test" but I was told it still doesn't work.

    Edit: So I was just told that the new "test" folder actually does show up with all of the files inside but the 'UnityArmatureComponent' for the character doesn't have the .json file already in it so the character still isn't showing up. He would have to manually add that component for himself which still isn't good but it's a step in the right direction.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2021
  4. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,411
  5. Man0li

    Man0li

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for your time. People are telling me it is working now with the changed folder names but I will change the .gitignore too for future things. :D