Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Gi Cache

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by adpok, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. adpok

    adpok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Posts:
    28
    Hi, is there a way to tell if unity is even trying to use the GI cache. I have numerous scenes that are baked, and when i was changing the filtering settings, the cache was working...I literally reopen the scene and the cache is no longer being accessed, it just tries to rebake the whole thing.
     
  2. fguinier

    fguinier

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    Hi adpok.

    My guess is that you are using the progressive lightmapper, witch is indeed not using the gi cache to store intermediary result while baking, thus the rebake when reopening the scene and changing filtering.

    This is however definitively something that we want to support. The sad story is that development of this was started but priority shifted and this code is waiting for more love at the moment. If this feature is something important for your workflow i would advice to open a public bug on this and up vote it :)

    Florent
     
  3. kemalakay

    kemalakay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Posts:
    224
  4. adpok

    adpok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Posts:
    28
    cheers
     
unityunity