Search Unity

  1. Check out the Unite LA keynote for updates on the Visual Effect Editor, the FPS Sample, ECS, Unity for Film and more! Watch it now!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Getting version statistic

Discussion in 'Unity Analytics' started by jpv1234, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. jpv1234

    jpv1234

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    87
    Hello, I'm using Unity Analytics, however I can't find a way to see what are the version of the game that my users are using, and which is their device and software version. Please tell me that this is somewhere, I would be extremely disappointed if Unity analytics is not tracking this number

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. mpinol

    mpinol

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Posts:
    315
    Hi @jpv1234,

    This is something we are currently working on and hope to have completed sometime soon. I cannot give you a concrete date of when it will become available, but it will be announced once it is. Until then you could send a custom event that passes the version number of your game and you should be able to get device information by sending SystemInfo in custom events, http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/SystemInfo.html

    Let me know if you have any other questions!
     
  3. jpv1234

    jpv1234

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    87
    Thank you very much spinal. Yes, that was exactly the workaround I finally found and is my actual implementation. I'll be waiting for the feature to be ready

    Best regards
     
    mpinol likes this.
  4. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    385
    Has this been implemented? It would be nice to filter on game version in the Data Explorer.
     
  5. marc_tanenbaum

    marc_tanenbaum

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Posts:
    320
    It has, actually, via segmentation. :)

    Go to the Segments menu item, create a new segment, and in the pulldown find "Application version is". This will create a segment based on the specified App version. Note that, as with all our segmentation, this only works forward from the time you create the segment (it won't backfill historical data).

    Hope that helps!
     
  6. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    385
    Sounds easy enough :) Thanks Marc!