Search Unity

Getting the Detectable Tags from ray perception sensor script

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by James_Adey, Feb 24, 2020.

1. James_Adey

James_Adey

I have an enemy tag in the RPS script and i want to do an if statement inside my agent script to say if the ray cast hits an object with the tag enemy then do something. I am not sure however how to actually retrieve the detectable tag info from the RPS script. Any help would be great as I am fairly new to this.

sfilo likes this.
  2. celion_unity

celion_unity

Sorry for the late response on this. The output for the RayPerception sensor isn't designed to be usable outside ML-Agents code. It writes the results directly as an array of floats that get sent to training or inference.

It's still possible to get something out of the results though. This part of the code explains some of the format:
    https://github.com/Unity-Technologi...ntime/Sensor/RayPerceptionSensor.cs#L211-L216

So as an example, if you had 3 rays with 2 detectable objects, there would be 12 output floats (num rays * (num tags + 2)). The output would look like:

output[0] = 1.0 if ray 0 hit tag 0, else 0.0
    output[1] = 1.0 if ray 0 hit tag 1, else 0.0
    output[2] = 1.0 if ray 0 didn't hit anything, else 0.0
    output[3] = hit fraction of ray 0 (or 1.0 if it missed everything)

output[4] = 1.0 if ray 1 hit tag 0, else 0.0
    output[5] = 1.0 if ray 1 hit tag 1, else 0.0
    output[6] = 1.0 if ray 1 didn't hit anything, else 0.0
    output[7] = hit fraction of ray 1 (or 1.0 if it missed everything)

output[8] = 1.0 if ray 2 hit tag 0, else 0.0
    output[9] = 1.0 if ray 2 hit tag 1, else 0.0
    output[10] = 1.0 if ray 2 didn't hit anything, else 0.0
    output[11] = hit fraction of ray 2 (or 1.0 if it missed everything)