Search Unity

Getting started with Vuforia Model Target - problems and questions

Discussion in 'Vuforia' started by grimmwerks, May 7, 2018.

1. grimmwerks

grimmwerks

I'm just beginning here, so if I'm missing anything please point it out:

1) I have an .obj of a tool I want to use as a target. I open up the Vuforia Model Target Generator and import it; I've set it's position, it's size (note: even though I select 'inches' it's still displaying as meters in the view: ie Size: 0.790m x 0.065m x 0.140m -- would be better to display as inches, no?)

2. I set it as landcape and Set Detection Position

3. I then 'Generate Target' (note I've used the same model 3x to figure out this units display issue, and for some reason it has seen them as 3 distinct models, so I've only got 7 out of 10 left. Is there a way to delete some to free up during testing?

I switch to Unity. I add an ARCamera, I doubleclick the vuforia Test.unitypackage and import the model target. I set the database to my Test, my model target to my Test, it displays the size as it does above so I know it's loaded.

What is Guide View Mode? I've looked within the api / docs, couldn't find it but I'll look again.

If I click 'Add Model Target' it flips to my dev.vuforia page - I see two dbs I've got up there but both are empty. I've got one that's a cloud db but it's only allows Target Images. The device db allows a 3d object but only ones uploaded by the Vuforia Object Scanner. So I'm assuming I don't need either of these databases. How can I delete them if not needed? If I wanted a database of multiple objects and have an app recognize them as in the video from Vuforia here
    how is that done? Docs, tutorial?

Lastly, once I run the above with the embedded model target I get no outline of the Tool target whether I'm using no guides, 2d guides, or 3d guides.