Search Unity

Getting Started But I Don't Know How..

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by LordDaniel, Sep 13, 2018.

1. LordDaniel

LordDaniel

So I got my Oculus rift this month, played with it, pretty cool device, and I decided to start program stuff for it.
    The problem is I got zero idea how to start.
    So first of all i went for Unity and C# as it is something i played with a lot in the last years, so i have some experience here.
    There is SteamVR plugin, but It seems to not get updated anymore. some of the stuff there doesnt even work.
    There is VRTK and NewtonVR but both of them too dont get support anymore ( VRTK on life support, and Newton didn't got new commit for months).
    I prefer to not use closed platform solutions like Oculus SDK.
    And even if i look for guides all of them old, like 2-3 years and meanwhile a lot of stuff seems to be changed ( Unity has now VR built in support? Am I suppose to use it?).

Basically I want to know what tools and guides do I need, for programming a 2018 VR game.

2. MD_Reptile

MD_Reptile

Disclaimer - I've only messed with a Google cardboard as I haven't got one of the fancy headsets yet.

Anyway unity sure can do this stuff, and I think there are a variety of free plug-ins to use that help solve the basics of tracking for the head and controllers.

I'd say start experimenting with a few of those free plugins, and if you run into issues, try some of the others! Someone else may come along with a stronger vr background and better answers...

3. StickyHoneybuns

StickyHoneybuns