Search Unity

1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Getting skin and muscles to flex correctly at joints: Beginner seeks a workflow

Discussion in 'Animation' started by RobbieTheCupcake, May 20, 2020.

1. RobbieTheCupcake

RobbieTheCupcake

Hi all!

Let me preface this by saying I'm still very new to this. I've been trying learn Unity and C# off and on for the past 18 months or so, but that is limited to coding and Unity itself. I am not an artist and I know basically nothing about how 3D models are created. What I'm asking for may be very obvious to some of you and the answers may be readily available. I promise you I've tried to search first and come up with nothing. It could very well be that I'm just not searching to the right terms as I'm not familiar with the terminology.

I'm working with a group of friends on a project to provide resources for a certain type of game development. Without going into detail, the end goal that I want is for a character model to be able to swap flat shoes for high heels, and for the skin and muscles in the ankles, legs, and glutes to stretch, flex, and deform realistically as a result of the character model wearing high heels. This is a very important aspect of the type of resources we're trying to develop, and I'll let you guess why.