Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Getting number of connected players when you are the server.

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by EducaSoft, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. EducaSoft

    EducaSoft

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    650
    Hi,

    If I poll the hostlist from the masterserver, then I can easily retrieve the information about all available servers and their name + connected players and max connections.

    However.

    Once I let my program BE the server, I would like to be able to see how many clients are currently connected to me.

    Is there a way to ask unity how many clients are connected to me (as a server?).

    I'd like to have a message showing "There are currently X players connected to you"

    But I don't really poll the hostlist for that. It is rather local.


    Any idea somebody ?


    Kind regards,

    Bart
     
  2. jeremyace

    jeremyace

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,661
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. var numOfConnectedPlayers = Network.connections.Length;
    3.  
    -Jeremy
     
    PatrickWoo likes this.
  3. EducaSoft

    EducaSoft

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    650
    Ah thanks,

    Didn't think of going to look there...
     
  4. DavidLancaster

    DavidLancaster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Network.connections.length doesn't seem to work in C#, how would you get around it? At least I can't seem to get it working in Leepos awesome networking tutorial.

    Thank you!
     
  5. cj-currie

    cj-currie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    337
    It doesn't work in C#? Unusual. Please post some code.
     
  6. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    the length of an array is the value in Length in C# / .NET actually, js just has a deprecated alias (not sure its still there) for it and thus can use length.
     
  7. DavidLancaster

    DavidLancaster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Code (csharp):
    1. GUILayout.Label("Connections: " + Network.connections.length);
    2.  
    or even a line like:
    Code (csharp):
    1. if (Network.connections.length >= 1)

    error CS0117: `UnityEngine.NetworkPlayer[]' does not contain a definition for `length'


    The above line of code works fine in JS.

    Thank you!

    David
     
  8. Factoid

    Factoid

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    69
    In C# it's capital L length. Just one of those quirks.
     
  9. DavidLancaster

    DavidLancaster

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Thank you appreciate it!