Search Unity

Getting normals relative to camera view

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by hsallander, Jan 23, 2017.

1. hsallander

hsallander

Hi, I'm quite new at shader programming and I'm trying to put together a matcap shader for a project. I've looked at the some current implementations as free assets from the Asset Store, but none of them function as I would expect. They all seem to use the normals relative to the camera direction, but not the direction between the camera and the object which is what I would expect is the correct approach. For instance this shader from @Jean-Moreno does the following vert() calculations, I've been in contact with him and he was also unable to solve it, and I've tried modifying the calculations myself to make the normals relative to the camera position but have so far been unsuccessful)

Code (CSharp):
    2. v2f vert (vertexdata v)
    3. {
    4.     v2f o;
    5.     o.pos = mul (UNITY_MATRIX_MVP, v.vertex);
    6.     o.uv = TRANSFORM_TEX(v.texcoord, _MainTex);
    7.     o.color = v.color;
    9.     float3 worldNorm = normalize(
    10.         unity_WorldToObject[0].xyz * v.normal.x
    11.         + unity_WorldToObject[1].xyz * v.normal.y
    12.         + unity_WorldToObject[2].xyz * v.normal.z);
    14.     worldNorm = mul((float3x3)UNITY_MATRIX_V, worldNorm);
    16.     o.cap.xy = worldNorm.xy * 0.5 + 0.5;
    18.     return o;
    19. }
    The way this behaves is as follows,
    I’m using a simple matcap image with red edges just to illustrate:

Here’s a case where the object is more or less centered, and then it’s behaving correctly, first image has no red edge, then I rotate the camera and when the edge is approaching 90deg from the camera it turns red:
    ->