Search Unity

Getting my head around the ECS paradigm (and how to create Entities hierarchies)

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by NoahSmiles22, Jan 10, 2020.

1. NoahSmiles22

NoahSmiles22

Hello fellow Unity programmers. I'm new to ECS paradigm and I'm asking for help getting my head around it. Here's my project at the moment. I'm trying to set a galaxy for a space game (nothing to difficult to conceptualize) based on a hierarchy of Galaxy > Star System > Celestial Bodies > Stations > etc...

I've been coding it in an OOP style and there's nothing wrong with it for now. But I'm now trying to convert the whole idea into the ECS paradigm (for scale and optimization sake). I've read that entity hierarchies are not the optimal way to go but I can't figure out how to do it otherwise (maybe go with a standard gameObject OOP approach and entities for specific things ?).

I'm trying to have a Galaxy Entity wich contains references to all the star system entities belonging to it and so on.

In your opinion, what would be a good implementation of this idea using ECS ?

EDIT : Maybe I'll elaborate more on what I tend to achieve. Let's say I'd like a live map of the galaxy (so basicaly stars floating around), with possibility to have access to specific systems. I don't want to have seperate scenes for each system : just a nice zoom into the details of each system.

Also, I heard about subscenes but I can't figure out how those work. Is there any documentation available for that matter ?

2. Spectralshift

Spectralshift

Disclaimer: I'm also new to DOTS and not an expert, but this is exactly a case I want to use ECS with, but I have only done simpler stuff. Just adding my thoughts for the conversation, hopefully someone else with more experience can chime in... especially around the rendering part.