Search Unity

GetConfidence() method for ARKit PointCloud

Discussion in 'AR' started by Tohrak, Jan 18, 2019.

  1. Tohrak

    Tohrak

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Posts:
    12
  2. AnthonyReddan

    AnthonyReddan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    Having worked with ARKit directly I can tell you that it doesn't provide any confidence values for the point cloud. That being said it seems like ARKit is pre-filtering points because it provides much less than ARCore in general but they seem to be significantly more accurate.
     
  3. AnthonyReddan

    AnthonyReddan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    Is there any chance we could have it return a list of 1.0f for ARKit instead? @tdmowrer
     
  4. BinaryBanana

    BinaryBanana

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    That what I would expect. Default value on ARKit should be 1f as confidence level is not available on iOS.
     
  5. BinaryBanana

    BinaryBanana

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    Also, if you are using ARFoundation with remoting tools, all of the confidence level will come as 0f, even on ARCore.
     
  6. dandanthepizzaman666

    dandanthepizzaman666

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    Sorry to bump an old thread but I'm trying to find out if ARFoundation will report confidence values for IOS / ARKit in current versions. If not what are folks using for determining confidence on this platform?
    The link in the OP doesn't mention if it's platform specific. I don't have access to an iOS device at this time.
    Thanks!
     
  7. KyryloKuzyk

    KyryloKuzyk

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    1,144
    As of today, ARKit does not support confidence values for Point Cloud. This feature is only available in ARCore.
     
  8. dandanthepizzaman666

    dandanthepizzaman666

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the quick response - I'm interested in giving the user feedback in response to the tracking confidence. Can you suggest a solution that might be platform agnostic?
    Thanks!
     
  9. KyryloKuzyk

    KyryloKuzyk

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    1,144
    The only thing you can currently know if tracking state is None, Limited or Tracking.

    var session = FindObjectOfType<ARSession>();
    var subsystem = session.subsystem;
    if (subsystem != null) {
    var trackingState = subsystem.trackingState; // can be None, Limited or Tracking
    }
     
    dandanthepizzaman666 likes this.