Search Unity

Genreal concept with Interfaces vs. MonoBehavior

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by htLocal, Dec 5, 2022.

1. htLocal

htLocal

Hey folks,

I'm new to Unity while having a bit of background in OOP and that led me to want to use the advantages of Interfaces and Base Classes. However I keep running into problems when I end up having to implement MonoBehavior, preventing me from using my own interfaces and base classes.

Let me quickly sketch out my scenario.

Character controller is the thing where everything is happening. it has the update method and such.
    In this controller I have an instance of a player class that is implementing an ICharacter interface. That works great so far. I can run around and everything still works.
    Then I want to collect some stuff on the ground, so I make a sphere with a script (with MonoBehavior) and a onTriggerEnter function that then should give the player one more sphere, but when I try to other.GetComponent<Player>().Inventory.pickupSpheres(1) it tells me Player needs to implement MonoBehavior which I can't do because it's already implementing something else.

I guess my question is: How do I plan out something from the start so that I never run into the problem of having to choose between MonoBehavior and my own base classes and interfaces? Or maybe I have the wrong approach?

Any tips would be appreciated <3

2. tleylan

tleylan

I'll take a stab at it. I think you must have the wrong approach :) It is C# so inheritance and interfaces work. Can you not inherit from MonoBehavior in your base class (if that is a requirement). Perhaps posting a concise concrete example of what doesn't work would help. Post it as "code" please.

3. Schneider21

Schneider21