Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Generic Modular Modern Construction Kit

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by LuxUnity, Feb 12, 2014.

  1. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    I read it, the image http://i.imgur.com/JaodNLb.jpg show a a doubleside wall put in the correct position.

    I find that use premade blocks is more fast, but here a video with doubleside walls:



    In this example the wall with windows is a doubleside interior-exterior, and the other 3 side of the room are doubleside interior-interior so there will be put more rooms.
     
  2. Thoreandon

    Thoreandon

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Ok, thanks a lot, even if it would be better if you explained some of the things in the video, i did not understand the last part why you did that, or was it just an example how to change walls?

    Anyway, i tried to build a room with the same elements, that is the simple explanation for all the problems i've had.
    What does L and R means? Is this just for the skirting?
    Why i still have gaps?
     
  3. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    Last part show how make more wall variations. In the asset I put only the most common, because with so many prefab the combination possibility are huge.

    If you look at an inside corner, the left wall will be the L and the right the R, it is useful to manage baseboards.

    Here the prefab put like in your scene:

    I'll send you a private message with this scene, so you'll see how the pieces fit together.
     
  4. almabstracta

    almabstracta

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    I'm interested in this package, but I want to see a demo in order to evaluate the graphic quality of the asset, for fps needs. It would be possible?

    Thanks!
     
  5. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    Here the sample scenes:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55578273/Unity3d/modern.zip
    Made with unity free without fancy sfx, only the asset.
     
  6. Thoreandon

    Thoreandon

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Ok, thanks again for your patience.
    I have to use the 'exterior_wall_corner_out' to close the gap.

    What the problem with your asset is, that its not clear what parts have to be used sometimes.
    (At least, not for me)

    A better explanation or some sort of exploded drawing would have been nice to get a better understanding of how parts work together, especially in the beginning.
    Anyway, i have a better understanding now and i think i finally can start building rooms.

    At least, you are very supportive, so thumbs up.
     
  7. Melchet

    Melchet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    I also got questions:

    Can you put your own textures on the walls, floors door etc?

    Can you also place interiour stuff when made an appartment?
     
  8. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    The kit have various texture in it and no forniture, but you can add yours if you want.
     
  9. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    In next update...

     
  10. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    Version 1.3 with PBR materials is ready in asset store!
     
    TeagansDad likes this.
  11. 600

    600

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    339
    The pack looks great!
    What is the ceiling height and could you provide the measurements for doors too?

    Thanks!
     
  12. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    Thanks!

    Doors = 1.8 x 3.7

    Ceiling height = 5
    Premade blocks are 5x5x5 in order to be easy to put together.
     
    600 likes this.
  13. Der_Kevin

    Der_Kevin

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Posts:
    507
    hey, something is awkward with the prefabs. they are all disabled/turned off and also all the children
     
  14. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    That is strange, try to re-download and re-import the asset in a new project.
     
  15. Der_Kevin

    Der_Kevin

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Posts:
    507
    same issue. the demo scenes are also empty because as mentioned, the prefabs are turned off
     
  16. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    667
    Send me a private message with your Invoice No. and what version of Unity you are using. I'll see where the problem is.
     
unityunity