Search Unity

General ML-Agents beginner questions

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by Gordon_G, May 29, 2020.

1. Gordon_G

Gordon_G

Hey All, I'm just getting started learning ML-Agents and have some questions about general concepts I don't understand yet, so if my language is not right please correct me!:

1. if an agent is trained and you apply the resulting brain to multiple game objects, do the all behave in exactly the same way or is there some variability in their behavior? That is, does the brain result in completely deterministic behavior? (For example, where the environment is fixed, like when the agent drives around a race track.)

2. How do you organize behaviors that need separate brains? From other answers I have read, I understand (correct me if I am wrong) that if, for example, I want a game NPC to be able to operate a vehicle which has a machine gun on it and a rocket launcher I will need to train it separately for all the vehicle features.

The NPC will need to operate the vehicle (accelerate, turn to some target), operate a gun (reload, aim, fire, to some other target), and operate a rocket l launcher (reload, aim, fire, and so on). Therefore I will need to train the NPC by creating an agent script for each behavior resulting in multiple brains that the "in game" NPC will use.

So, is that 3 agents scripts - one each for driving, operating a gun, and operating a rocket launcher - or more or less, or what? For example, the gun and rocket launcher can be done in one agent? Or, on the other extreme, do I need a separate agent for reloading, and one for aiming, and one for firing? How do you decide?

What coordinates the multiple brains together - or they all operate independently? What if for example, the rocket launcher on the vehicle has the stipulation that the vehicle must stop to be able to operate - doesn't that require that the "driving brain" coordinate with the "rocket launcher brain" in some way?