Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

General guidance for noob dev - working on a two plane level

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Gojiragh, Jul 25, 2021.

1. Gojiragh

Gojiragh

Hey everyone,

Apologies for lack of etiquette, this is my first Unity forum post :) Lovely to be part of the community.

I'm a brand new dev, I've been learning Unity and C# for a few months and I'm now working on my very first game. In short and sweet, it will be a 2d top down where you control a rabbit that surfaces to find food, whilst avoiding dangers and returns to his burrow to rest.

Burrowing and the rabbits sense of where the dangers are thanks to it's hearing will be a key part of the gameplay loop. I want locational information between the ground level and underground to be completely synced, as the rabbit will burrow up (and down) to the surface equivalent space. I also want to have cues for the location of the enemy fox so the rabbit can hear roughly where the fox is when in the burrowed state.

I thought about building the two layers in the same scene, so burrowing (technically teleporting) would transport the player object 10000 or -10000 on the Y axis depending on which space the player is in. This would then allow me to offset a locational clue relevant to the location of the enemies on the ground so the player could strategically dig. Does this sound like a good idea?

If there are some alternative methods I should learn about pls, pls let me know, I'm not necessarily looking for the right answers and I want to make mistakes like this but I'm really keen to engage whilst I learn.

Thanks so much!

2. TheFunnySide

TheFunnySide

If you dont want to teleport then you still have the option that both layers overlap. You can just make things invisible while you are underground... Collision can also be done in layers